Finland’s pride, Amorphis are giving presence once again the last 4 years with a new album, something that shows that inspiration flows a lot inside the band. Of course, we can only give praise to them because of them, as the results are more than good. Actually, they are in such good shape and the situation between the members is really great. It seems as if they are passing through a stage of second youth, and this reflects on their music.

Full of energy once again, without being tiring at all, they produced an album which doesn’t differ a lot from the two previous ones (”Eclipse” and ”Silent Waters). On the other hand, all these three releases are much better than average and prove the band’s worth. I think the big move from the band was gaining Tomi Joutsen as a singer. This guy’s voice is really something. He can sing almost everything i believe. Especially when i saw him i was stunned. And he is also a person full of positive energy, so that’s maybe why the rest of the band seems so refreshed.

Unfortunately this album doesn’t contain so much brutal vocals, apart ”Majestic Beast” and ”From Earth I Rose” but this is not so disturbing, as first two openers, ”Sampo” and first single ”Silver Bride” are great tracks that attract a positive first impression. Having elements from 1996 album ”Elegy” and being a concept taken from the national poem ”Kalevala”, the new Amorphis album connects successfully the past and the present of the band, which can lead to a stable and bright future if they keep working that hard and serious.

I believe they will continue writing great music without big changes in their sound, since they seem to have found the right formula to express themselves. I think it is equal or maybe a little better than the previous album. Surely though, it is definitely worth many listenings.

Track List Line Up
01. Sampo
02. Silver Bride
03. From The Heaven Of My Heart
04. Sky Is Mine
05. Majestic Beast
06. My Sun
07. Highest Star
08. Skyforger
09. Course Of Fate
10. From Earth I Rose
11. Godlike Machine
Tomi Joutsen – Vocals
Tomi Koivusaari – Rhythm Guitar
Esa Holopainen – Lead Guitar
Niclas Etelavuori –  Bass
Santeri Kallio – Keyboards
Jan Rechberger – Drums