Yes, they are back. Really soon I should add. Since the comeback with ”Frozen In Time” in 2005, they seem very energetic and each year they offer us something new, whether it is a full length, an EP, a DVD or whatever else. Last year saw the release of ”Left To Die” EP and everyone was eager to see what’s coming next.

This year, the Obies return with the new album entitled ”Darkest Day”, and once again, we all know what to wait. John Tardy is the landmark of death metal vocals, easily the most recognizable voice of the genre and a fully respectful person. The driving force of this vehicle. Not of course to underestimate the rest of his company, as they are punctual to their playing and the album is full of energy once again. Of course, there are no big differences compared to previous records, but this is the reason we all love Obituary. The groove is still here, speed and violence takes place where it is needed and the old feeling awakes good memories many times during the listening of the album. This time it reminds me a little more of ”The End Complete” and ”World Demise” era, heavy and slow, groovy and modern, but all in all, still Obituary.

I personally prefer the previous two albums, but songs like ”List Of Dead” that opens the album or ”Payback” and ”Blood To Give” will make many heads roll under the crushing rhythm. I can’t even say or state something negative for them. Their presence the last 20 years speaks of itself and we all would be more than ungrateful to not mention this. It feels to me as if they have become something like AC/DC on their style: growing older, but still maturing, more and more.

Time has already given them what they deserve, fans also. Next step is waiting to see them live once again, where sweat and headbanging will replace doubt and thoughts about them.

Track List Line Up
01. List Of Dead
02. Blood To Give
03. Lost
04. Outside My Head
05. Payback
06. Your Darkest Day
07. This Life
08. See Me Now
09. Fields Of Pain
10. Violent Dreams
11. Truth Be Told
12. Forces Realign
13. Left To Die
John Tardy – Vocals
Trevor Peres – Guitars
Ralph Santola – Guitars
Frank Watkins – Bass
Donald Tardy – Drums