It is real, Megadeth are back not only for good, but also to stay, or even rule! The result of the latest release of Mustaine and Co. is so amazing that even the most dedicated fan of the band wouldn’t expect this. A return to glorious sounds of the past, in late 80’s and early 90’s era of the band is what ”Endgame” contains. A result which comes from a team work, because that’s what it’s all about.

This time Dave Mustaine is accompanied by a great line-up that helps him enable all his tactics to create a great and Megadeth to the core album. Chris Broderick seems to be the driving force that set Mustaine free, as he is a partner that you can count on, either by being a steady rhythm creator, or a soloist without end. Bassist James LoMenzo (former on Black Label Society) together with drummer Shawn Drover (also in Eidolon) provide a gigantic rhythm section and last but not least, producer Andy Sneap does a phenomenal work, where everything is heard well and especially the guitars seem to have one of the best productions of all times.

Most of the songs sound as if a result of ”Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?” or even ”Rust In Peace” (especially songs like ”Headcrusher” or ”44 Minutes” seem to have remained in that era). The way the album opens with the great instrumental ”Dialectic Chaos” hasn’t happened since 1988, when ”So Far, So Good…So What!” was released. There is also a ballad here, which may not be suitable to the overall feeling of shredding, but is not just another filler: ”The Hardest Part Of Letting Go”. Megadeth is more alive than ever I guess, especially since the recovery of an old accident in the hand of Dave Mustaine. Third great album in the row for them and I really can’t remember when this did happen for the last time (maybe in 1997 with ”Cryptic Writings” coming after ”Countdown To Extinction” and ”Youthanasia”).

I am very satisfied because Megadeth is one of the bands I would always try and be objective and strict with. I have grown up loving them and I’ve had many memorable moments with them, either good or bad. I am glad I can declare that this album is worth counting on, buying, listening to and live with. Let’s hope there will be a great continuation in the future. For the time being, ”Endgame” seems not to be the end for them. Love and bruises!

Track List Line Up
01. Dialectic Chaos
02. This Day We Fight!
03. 44 Minutes
04. 1,320′
05. Bite the Hand
06. Bodies
07. Endgame
08. The Hardest Part of Letting Go…Sealed With a Kiss
09. Head Crusher
10. How the Story Ends
11. The Right to Go Insane
Dave Mustaine – guitar, lead vocals
Chris Broderick – guitar, backing vocals
James LoMenzo – bass, backing vocals
Shawn Drover – drums