Fifth full length strike from the undergound black metal masters of the genre, and inquisition still prove that thay can produce quality black metal. The long awaited album is entitled “Ominous Doctrines of the Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm” and its out through Icarus Reccords for Latin America, No Colours Records for Europe and from Hells Headbangers Records for North America. After an extremely long wait and numerous delays, the maniacs of the extreme underground sound are witnesses on how a band should build upon its own music/tunes and take one level further its inspiration.But lets take the things from the start.

First of all, “Ominus” in contrast with the previous full length releases, has nothing to be jealous of, instead of that “ominus” stands proud above the previous releases and in my opinion its the most completed work till now. “Nefarious” delivered a potent dose of eerie, ritualistic atmosphere, but this album sees Inquisition return to a more aggressive and varied style.

“Ominus” opens with an outstanding song which is entitled “Astral Path To Supreme Majesties” and shows from the very beginning that the new album is connected fully with past as this song reminds a lot musically Inquisition’s debut “Into the Infernal Regions of the Ancient Cult”. From the beginning  you can easily figure out that the sound and the structure of this record is much more dynamic than on “Nefarious Dismal Orations”. The crisp drumming of Incubus fills perfectly the blackened epic atmosphere which is made from the sharp riffs. As for the Dagon’s cold, ruthlessly affectless vocals, are still here after all those records and right up front in the mix.

Second song is “Command of The Dark Crown” which opens with a movie intro, and after that: riffing pleassure with Dagon to prove with his guitar how simple and intellgent a song could be.

The baton goes to the third song which is entitled “Desolate Funeral Chant”. To the listening of this song my mind went instantaneously to a song from “Nefarious”:  “Where Darkness Is Lord and Death the Beginning”, cause it’s structure and it’s sorrowfull tunes which are filled with mesmerizing lyrics. Just amazing and very simple song again on how to deliver black metal without being a circus. As I tried to overcome this slow tempo mesmerizing shock the next song “Cosmic invocation Rites” was in front of my ears to rouse and blow my brains out: riffing orgasm in quick blasting tempo from Incubus and with Dagon being evilized on vox and on guitars as well.

After this attack the 5th instrumental song of the album (conjuration) was present to elevate the angry mood of the previous song into more epic paths but only for 56sec cause. The song “Upon the Fire Winged Demon” which took place was angry again at the start but later evolved in more orthodox clever technically parts which ended with conjuration again this time used as an outro to the song.

After that, the homonym song of the album “Ominous Doctrines of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm” is next on the list to fill my brain/ears: shifting rhythm guitars combined with a memorable lead line, all over a remarkable performance on the drums and with Dagon being undoubtedly on deadly form delivering a chilling hymn to the void. If I could describe this song with two words it would be “Remarkable” & “Triumphant”.

As the last riff passes away “Crepuscular Battle Hymn” make his presence marked on my hi-fi. A song with a swaggering, mid-paced war cry in the tradition of “Crush The Jewish Prophet”. The lyrics here are just plain excellent for once again as also the movie sample is integrated into the song. Before the last song “Hymn for a Dead Star” strikes with a fuckin epic riff for the first secs which proceeds to a more offensive rhythm and finally ends for one more time triumphantly epic.

Last but not least the album is filled with “Across the Abyss Ancient Horns Bray” a song that is blasting all the way after the opening riff and I believe that it’s the best way to close such an amazingly vigorous album. All those songs and the main theme of the album are based on space and stars with a satanic bliss that describes, or better of descriminates, through the years the acoustic touch of the band throughout their underground career.

In my opinion this album has a lot to offer nowdays to black metal and the way this should be performed, its without doubt one of the best album of pure black metal that came out this year.

Standout tracks: “Desolate Funeral Chant”, “Ominous Doctrines of the Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm”, “Astral Path to Supreme Majesties”.

For the maniacs the record will be released in the following formats:

– A5 digipak CD limited to 1000 copies released by No Colours.

– Gatefold LP (with poster) released by No Colours on December 16th, 2010.

– Limited to 100 copies on blue splatter, 100 copies on red, 100 copies on white & unlimited on black vinyl.

– A white splatter LP edition was released a week later (also limited to 100 copies). Reissued by Hell’s Headbangers on black vinyl on March 9th, picture disc (111 copies) on March 15th and tome edition with colored vinyl (500 copies) on April 29th, 2011. All the copies come with a poster and on 45pm 2xLPs with a laser etched on side D.

Track List Line Up
01. Astral Path to Supreme Majesties
02. Command of the Dark Crown
03. Desolate Funeral Chant
04. Cosmic Invocation Rites
05. Conjuration
06. Upon the Fire Winged Demon
07. Ominous Doctrines of the Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm
08. Crepuscular Battle Hymn
09. Hymn for a Dead Star
10. Across the Abyss Ancient Horns Bray

Dagon – Voices, Guitar, Bass
Incubus – Drums