[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 8
Label: Nuclear Blast
Website: Link
Author: John Savvidis[/colored_box]

Who said that Finland is to be left outside the thrashing feast of the last decade? And here they come with these young maniacs called Lost Society. This band managed to make some good name for themselves with their debut “Fast Loud Death” (2013) which showed the bands’ love for crossover Thrash in the vein of D.R.I. and S.O.D. (and their successors Municipal Waste) as well as the feelgood/fun lyrics from Bay Area Thrash and Anthrax. Thrash seems to be a huge party for these guys, as confirmed by the ones who saw them on tour with Suicidal Angels, Fueled By Fire and Exarsis.

Without any further ado and willing to preserve their name in the news, Lost Society release another album this year called “Terror Hungry“. It starts off with “Spurgatory” an intro track with a beer can opening, a guy saying “YEAH MAN!” and police sirens and one heavy riff to introduce to their world: fun and chased by cops because they probably destroyed something. “Game Over” comes up ripping fast with riffage close to Diamond Head and Overkill, made to destroy showing the bands great gang vocals and soloing abilities. What follows is another fast-paced Thrasher called “Attaxic” with some hints of Sepultura in the chorus and a groovy mosh part after the chorus then back to the full-speed ahead motif. Up next we have “Lethal Pleasure“, another track with a great catchy intro riff and fast tempo that’s sure to open plenty of moshpits in live shows. The albums’ title track (as well as the first hilarious video off that one “They drank my fuckin’ beer!!”) keeps up the tempo showing the most Municipal Waste influence on the record.

Snowroad Blowout” starts off with a groovy riff before turning into another fast-paced tornado balancing between midtempo Thrash and the ripping speed before a kick ass solo and backing riff breaks the speed for a while. A slow riff brings us “Tyrant Takeover” which goes mid tempo Thrash then into the fast-paced pattern again including great soloing. A groovy drum intro leads us to “Overdosed Brain” and staccato riffage meant for headbanging, which brings the midpaced element in an overall fast record. Lyricwise about the band themselves and the madness they spread. “Thrashed Reality” starts midtempo only to suddenly turn into a Thrash tornado sucking the listener in and reeking of moshing/stagediving and adrenaline-fueled riffs. The same goes for “F.F.E” the shortest track on the record, going full speed then breaking a bit in the middle for some midtempo stuff.

The next track is “Brewtal Awakening” which starts mostly in a classic metal way, with soloing over headbanging riffage (those Finnish guys never tend to lose the melody in their music right?), before speeding up once more to cause more circles in shows. The lyrics are pretty obviously about booze (pretty much the bands’ fuel to write such intense riffage). “Mosh It Up” comes next to do as the title says, with top riffage popping out of nowhere and never stopping and the solos take over after the chorus. Which continues on “Wasted After Midnight” going ripping fast reminding me of Tankard in their fast moments. One hell of a song to end the record.

We have to mention the overall Rock N Roll feeling of the record, as if it’s some party on with these fucking maniacs as the hosts of the evening. Please come in, there will be a lot of mosh, alcohol and thrashing madness tonight. Forget about your problems and rock out like you ought yourself to!!!

Track List Line Up
01. Spurgatory
02. Game Over
03. Attaxic
04. Lethal Pleasure
05. Terror Hungry
06. Snowroad Blowout
07. Tyrant Takeover
08. Overdosed Brain
09. Thrashed Reality
10. F.F.E.
11. Brewtal Awakening
12. Mosh It Up
13. Wasted After Midnight
Samy Elbanna – Guitars, Vocals
Mirko Lehtinen – Bass
Ossi Paananen – Drums
Arttu Lesonen – Guitars