[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 7.5
Label: Self Released
Website: Link
Author: John Savvidis[/colored_box]

Another brand new thrash band for us, this time from Germany. With a name taken from the ultimate moshing anthem Toxic Waltz by Exodus, these Germans have come to claim their share of the country’s thrash metal scene. There are bands apart from the classic (Kreator, Sodom, Destruction, Tankard, Mekong Delta) delivering the goods in the genre (Dew-Scented for example) but remain unknown to a wider audience.

After a melodic intro which sounds inspired off the “When The Sun Burns Red” acoustic intro (Kreator) the album kicks in with the title track “Decades Of Pain” repeating the intro harmonies with distorted guitars and staccato riffage inspired by the fathers Kreator/Sodom and of course Exodus/Testament. with vocals on the trademark German raspy voice somewhere between Angelripper (Sodom) and Petrozza (Kreator), including great soloing. “World Of Hate” shows some more speed and some Iced Earth influenced riffing in its beginning before turning into midtempo and from that into a groovy chorus and a kick ass fast paced midsection with top notch soloing. A great lead melody brings us “Toxic Hell” and its fast riffage which breaks around the chorus, including a lot of staccato and technical riffs/solos (especially reminding of Sepultura).

Things get more balladesque in the vein of Metallica on “Suicide Squad” which later balances between midtempo and fast paced Thrash being mostly a headbanging track. Things speed up a bit with “Green” and its fast intro breaking for a second with an acoustic passage then turning into a midtempo neckbreaking track with amazing solos. “Morbid Symmetry” continues on the same pattern in its intro only to start Thrashing some seconds after that then breaking into a groovy part and back to the original speed with some more great solos. A bass intro starts “Priest Of Lies” in a US Thrash type of way going midtempo mostly bringing some Testament to mind. “Obsession To Kill” is another headbanging track starting with some fast riffage and still having fast parts here and there but mainly it’s a midtempo and kind of atmospheric track yet still with a sick atmosphere.

Track List Line Up
01. Intro
02. Decades of Pain
03. World of Hate
04. Toxic Hell
05. Suicide Squad
06. Green
07. Morbid Symphony
08. Priest of Lies
09. Obsession to Kill
Rahman – Bass
Jimi – Guitars (lead)
Angelo – Vocals
Alex – Guitars (rhythm)
Tim – Drums