fantomas logoFANTÔMAS, the eclectic supergroup featuring Mike Patton (FAITH NO MORE, TOMAHAWK, PEEPING TOM), Buzz Osborne (MELVINS), Trevor Dunn (MR. BUNGLE, MADLOVE) and Dale Crover (MELVINS, SHRINEBUILDER), release “The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution” on DVD and as a standalone audio download on September 6 via Ipecac Recordings.

Filmed at San Francisco’s Great American Music Hall on December 31, 2008, the DVD features audio commentary by comedian Neil Hamburger.

FANTÔMAS released the studio version of “The Director’s Cut” in July of 2001. The album tackles a collection of beloved and eerie film compositions including Nino Rota’s “The Godfather”, Bernard Herrmann’s “Cape Fear” and Jerry Goldsmith’s “The Omen (Ave Satani)”. Upon its release, Pitchfork said the effort was “as cinematic as its source material” and NME called it “gleeful butchering.”

Two songs featured on “The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution” were not in the original release of “The Director’s Cut”: Al Green’s “Simply Beautiful” and Marc Bolan & T. Rex’s “Chariot Choogle”.

“The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution” track listing:

01. The Godfather
02. Night of the Hunter
03. Cape Fear
04. Experiment in Terror
05. One Step Beyond
06. Rosemary’s Baby
07. The Devil Rides Out
08. Spider Baby
09. The Omen (Ave Satani)
10. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
11. Vendetta
12. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
13. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
14. Der Golem
15. Charade
16. Intermission
17. Simply Beautiful
18. Chariot Choogle

A new trailer for “The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution” can be seen below.

fantomas dvd