autopsyLegendary San Francisco Bay Area gore grind act AUTOPSY has issued the following update:

“AUTOPSY will be entering Fantasy studios in Berkeley, California late October to record a few new tracks for an upcoming collection entitled ‘All Tomorrow’s Funerals’. This monstrous release will be on Peaceville Records and will contain all of AUTOPSY’s EPs remastered by the band themselves as well as the new cuts, totalling 21 tracks all together. Everything from ‘Retribution For The Dead’ to the now-sold-out ‘The Tomb Within’ will be presented on CD and DLP with all original artworks, liner notes from the band and a killer new cover from Matt Cavotta. This is something the band has wanted to do for a long time, having all these chunks of material in one cohesive release, with the best sound and packaging possible. AUTOPSY will make every effort to make sure this death metal assault is top quality and worthy of your attention. The release date is tentatively set for March of 2012.”

“Macabre Eternal”, the first full-length album from AUTOPSY since 1995’s “Shitfun”, sold around 600 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 67 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Macabre Eternal” was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California and includes AUTOPSY’s first 10-plus minute song “Sadistic Gratification”.

AUTOPSY drummer/vocalist Chris Reifert previously said about “Macabre Eternal”: “We’ve brewed up the sickest and heaviest material that our rotten souls could possibly spew forth, and we are confident that it’s our best stuff yet. The EP was a taste of what’s to come, but now it’s time for the full assault from beyond the grave.”

He continued, “The album contains no repeated EP tracks, no re-recorded old songs, no triggered trickery, and nothing less than the pure death metal brutality that AUTOPSY has always delivered.”

AUTOPSY had previously decided to make an official comeback after working together on two songs for the special 20th-anniversary edition of debut album, “Severed Survival”, in late 2008; the band having originally split before the release of its fourth album, “Shitfun”, in 1995. A five-song EP, “The Tomb Within”, came out last September and saw the original trio of Chris Reifert, Danny Coralles and Eric Cutler joined on bass by Joe Trevisano (ex-ABSCESS).

autopsy band