MOTÖRHEAD, ANTHRAX, CANNIBAL CORPSE and PRIMAL FEAR are among the bands who are featured on Metal Hammer Germany’s “A Tribute To Kill ‘Em All” CD, celebrating the 30th anniversary of METALLICA‘s classic debut album. The collection features every single song from the original METALLICA LP performed by a different artist and includes two exclusive tracks: “(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth” by EISREGEN and THE VISION BLEAK, and “Jump In The Fire” by DUST BOLT.

“A Tribute To Kill ‘Em All” track listing:

01. Hit The Lights – BLACK TIDE
02. The Four Horsemen – BURDEN OF GRIEF
03. Motorbreath (live) – RAGE
04. Jump In The Fire – DUST BOLT (exclusive)
05. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth – EISREGEN and THE VISION BLEAK (exclusive)
06. Whiplash – MOTÖRHEAD
07. Phantom Lord – ANTHRAX
08. No Remorse – CANNIBAL CORPSE
09. Seek & Destroy – PRIMAL FEAR
10. Metal Militia – DEW-SCENTED

Originally issued on July 25, 1983 through the independent label M

egaforce Records, “Kill ‘Em All” was recorded in two weeks on a miniscule budget in upstate New York. Although only 1,500 copies were initially pressed, the album was reissued by Elektra Records after the band signed to that label in 19

84 and has since been certified triple platinum for sales of more than three million copies.

The original title of “Kill ‘Em All” was “Metal Up Your Ass”.

The album’s opening cut, “Hit the Lights”, was the first song that frontman James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich wrote together after forming METALLICA. An early version of the track appeared on the 1982 compilation “Metal Massacre”.

Lead guitarist Dave Mustaine was replaced by Kirk Hammett shortly before recording commenced, although Mustaine still has several writing credits on the disc and went on to form MEGADETH.

A number of songs from the album are still part of METALLICA‘s set list to this day, including “The Four Horsemen”, “Seek and Destroy” and “No Remorse”.

METALLICA has since gone on to become one of the biggest rock bands in the world, selling tens of millions of copies of its eight studio albums, including 15 million alone of 1991’s self-titled “black album.” The band’s ninth effort, “Death Magnetic”, arrived in 2008.

In 2008, Metal Blade Records owner and CEO Brian Slagel conducted interviews with James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich to coincide with the 25th anniversary of “Kill ‘Em All”. Watch the six-and-a-half-minute clip below.