Hooray! This is it! Goatwhore’s finest hour to date comes with their latest release, with the threatening title ”Carving Out The Eyes Of God”. I don’t care if they want to sound evil or they want to beat the shit out of anybody, I know that their new album has all the incidents missing on the previous three (”The Eclipse Of Ages Into Black”, ”Funeral Dirge For The Rotting Sun”, ”A Haunting Curse”) efforts.

It is surely more straightforward, believe me this is for good. Also, it has much more death and thrash incidents, the blackish parts of course which are their trademark are not absent, only this time we have a greatly divided balance. It sounds old-school with an enormous modern production and it really seems that they had a lot of time doing it. Not to mention that they sound in parts like Motorhead or early punk style bands, a party atmosphere where fan is all that counts. Apart all these, don’t forget that we have to deal with experienced musicians and it is no Barbie girl stuff.

The throat of Ben Falgoust unleashes excellent growls, that they have nothing to do with his vocal presence in his other band, Soilent Green. It has some things in common with ”A Haunting Curse” but this time they moved a step forward. And it also seems that they will do it again on the next record. Very promising release, I didn’t expect such improvement to be honest, especially their first two albums aren’t heard that easily.

I am very glad for them and if they go on like this, they will deliver us something even better next time. It’s all a matter of time, all they have to do is stay focused and continue creating that feeling that they enjoy their music. Originality is above all and once they have it, the rest is easy. Hard work gentlemen and you’re on a good and safe road to something special.

Track List Line Up
01. Apocalyptic Havoc
02. The All Destroying
03. Carving Out the Eyes of God
04. Shadow of a Rising Knife
05. Provoking the Ritual of Death
06. In Legions, I Am Wars of Wrath
07. Reckoning of the Soul Made Godless
08. The Passing into the Power of Demons
09. Razor Fleshed Devoured
10. To Mourn and Forever Wander Through Forgotten Doorways
Sammy Duet – Guitar, Vocals
Ben Falgoust – Vocals
Zack Simmons – Drums
Nathan Bergeron – Bass, Vocals