Here, gentlemen, we have a serious new proposal for real heavy metal. Kelly Sundown Carpenter, being an underground hero for the genre, after singing in gems like Beyond Twilight’s “Section X” and Outworld’s self titled debut decided to create a band of his own, in order to stay in the foreground once and for all.

The result justifies him by all means. The use of his voice proves that he is one of the best singers of his generation, although the whole structure doesn’t rely just on that. Very good compositions in the veins of Beyond Twilight, Symphony X and the rest of the prog power scene and big depth in the use of all other instruments are the main advantages that characterize this release. Excellent riffs and clever drum and bass patterns provide lots more than just an ambiance for Kelly’s voice. Of course, I’m talking about all the other music elements because I take Kelly’s vocal talent for granted. Beautiful vocal lines and lots of different expressions are present in each of the tracks. If you don’t know what I’m talking about either check this album, which is a great portal to Kelly’s majestic kingdom, or any of his previous aforementioned works.

The only negative thing I could point out is that the whole album sounds as an anthology of his previous works. For example the dark parts are a straight reference to Beyond Twilight and the twisted genius mind of Finn Zierler. Mentioning this doesn’t decrease from the album’s quality, rather than it multiplies the expectations for his next work. We must not forget that here we are talking about a genre where it’s fans have been tired to hear the same all over again. Darkology is one of the few remaining vessels that cry out loud that there is future where talent and hard work dwell.

To conclude, if this offered the freshness of Futures End, the authenticity of Beyond Twilight combined with a dose of originality and Kelly’s unique presence we would be talking for a real masterpiece of the genre. Until then we can still enjoy the beautiful alterations of metal’s own reflections.

Track List Line Up
01. Microcozm
02. Violent Vertigo
03. I Bleed
04. Dark Energy
05. Nobot
06. Eyes of Argus
07. Aura of Xhad
08. Alone
09. Revitalize
10. Trance of the Gorgons
Kelly Sundown – vocals
Michael Harris – guitars
Mike Neal – bass
Brian Harris – drums