Amon Amarth are back with their 8th studio album “Surtur Rising”. Their last albums were masterpieces and made many people that didn’t know or didn’t like the band, fans of the band. Everyone was expecting the release of this album with great impatience because Amon Amarth have raised the bar very high and everyone wanted to see if the band can release a reord that would be equal or even better that the previous ones. So what do we got here? Another epic masterpiece from those Swedish Vikings!

You can guess what you are going to hear from the amazing cover of the album that shows Surtur the giant. The title of the album has to do with Surtur, a fire giant that, at the period of Ragnarok, kills the god Freyr, and destroys the world. As you can guess lyrically the album has to do with Norse mythology, with the exception of some songs (for example “Slaves Of Fear” is a song against christianity).

The album starts with “War of the Gods” my favourite song from this record, a song that makes your adrenaline hit red when you listen to it and makes you want to destroy whatever you see in front of you! “Surtur Rising” follows the steps of the last 2 albums of the band but also contains some new stuff. The record contains both fast songs like “Destroyer of the Universe”, “A Beast Am I” and mid-tempo songs like “The Last Stand of Frej”, “Doom Over Dead Man” etc. What I can say about this album is that all of it’s songs are killer! Great melodies, great vocals, great production, great songs. The bands seems to be in a very good mood and this is reflected to “Surtur Rising”. The production is heavier than the one in “Twillight Of The Thunder God” and the sound of the album is perfect.

Overall, “Surtur Rising” is a great album, that will satisfy the fans of the band, and not only. Amon Amarth seem to be in a great creative mood and no one can stop them! We hope to see them in Greece soon!

Track List Line UP
01. War of the Gods
02. Tφck’s Taunt – Loke’s Treachery Part II
03. Destroyer of the Universe
04. Slaves of Fear
05. Live Without Regrets
06. The Last Stand of Frej
07. For Victory or Death
08. Wrath of the Norsemen
09. A Beast Am I
10. Doom Over Dead Man

Johan Hegg – vocals
Johan Sφderberg – guitars
Olavi Mikkonen – guitars
Ted Lundstrφm – bass
Fredrik Andersson – drums