Christian Muenzner needs no introductions. For those of you who don’t know him, it’s never too late, although you’ve probably heard his lead guitar in some songs of Necrophagist’s super-technical ”Epitaph” and of course in bands such as Obscura and Spawn of Possession.
This guitarist seemed so talented and music-loving since back then, because playing in Necrophagist and Obscura is no small deed. So he grabs the chance and he’s yet again showing his skills, this time as a solo artist. His first personal album is called ”Timewarp”.

The album contains 12 tracks of flawless technical harmony, fully melodic and with great emphasis in his compositions, while he combines neoclassical scales with death metal chaotic riffs on a 7string, hard rock rhythms, lots of feelers and 80s influences, there’s even an amazing ballad. Christian does an amazing job in composing the songs with rich and intense melodic/technical sound, which fills every second of this album. His influences are certainly quite clear. He uses some scales from Yngwie Malmsteen and some jazz rythmes which reminds me of John Petrucci’s style. Also it seems like Steve Vai’s chord proggresion and Jason Becker’s style in some parts of his songs. I think that he has the best influences to create his own solo cd.

Of course we have to mention every member and guest appearance on this album as they’re not few: Daniel Galmarini (solo keyboards), Hannes Grossmann (Obscura/Blotted Science, drums), the great Steve DiGiorgio (Sadus, ex-Death, Control Denied, ex-Artension, ex-Testament etc., bass) and guests such as: Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry, Kaipa), Shrapnel recording artist Derek Taylor (Eniac Requiem, Crimeny), Ryan Knight (ex-Arsis, The Black Dahlia Murder), Alex Guth (Stormwarrior) and keyboard wizard Bob Katsionis (Firewind, Revolution Renaissance etc.).
The album is flowing quite smoothly. The only flaw I managed to find is the long duration of the songs, which often gets tiring for the listener, of course it doesn’t get out of hand, so technical/melodic guitar fans must listen to this. I think Christian Muenzner will soon be considered a new guitar hero, with plenty of things to offer in this kind of music

Track List Line Up
01. Maybe Tomorrow
02. Confusion
03. The Tell-Tale Heart
04. Timewarp
05. Victory
06. Rocket Shop
07. Soulmates
08. Over The Mountains
09. Wastelands
10. Dawn Of The Shred
11. The Gunslinger
12. Endless Caravan
christian muenzen – all guitars
daniel galmarini – keyboards
hannes gorssmann – drums
steve digiorgio – bass