[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 7
Label: Metal Blade Records
Website: Link
Author: Kostas “Krotidas” Triantafyllidis[/colored_box]

Six Feet Under is a band that needs no references. Everybody knows them and their leader Chris Barnes. His lyrical work and his vocals on a band called Cannibal Corpse are written in history with big letters. And of course he has influenced many bands and musician from then till now. And that is enough said.

Although they begin as a side project of Mr. Barnes, after a while Six Feet Under became the main band for him. And until today they have released thirteen full length albums – or ten if you exempt the three albums of covers. And this one named “Unborn” was released just ten months later than “Undead”.

So to start with the music let me say that I had to listen to “Unborn” many times to decide if I like it or not. And still I am somewhere in the middle. Musically I didn’t expect a classic death metal album. And then again I didn’t expect this. The music and the production are clear and loud. All instruments are distinguishable and the orchestrations are simple enough. What will you hear is the grooviest death metal mixed with a lot of death ‘n’ roll elements. I could say that the music is hard rock. In most of the parts this statement is applied. If you mute the vocals this CD could be an excellent heavy rock album. It is like you are listening to the “Graveyard Classics” with new music ideas. But do not get mislead. There are many death metal riffs.

The tempos are that of mid-tempo, because of the groove. The songs give the feeling of party time. And I like this feeling a lot.  The vocals of Barnes are at very good shape. They fit on the music great because of the production. The structures of the songs are really beautiful.

So far you would think that I like this CD and that I would rate it high. Well there are some things that don’t make me happy. I expect a lot more than this from Chris Barnes and Steve Swanson. The songs are simple to maintain the brutality and the groove, but this is it. They are simple. And this is something that makes me angered. The capability of those two guys is enormous. And my expectations are high.

I think that I have nothing more to say. I have distinguished some songs as highlights for you. The opening track “Neuro Osmosis” with the weird acoustic intro, “Zombie Blood Curse” and Alive To Kill You” are my favorites and they have a lot of energy. That’s all folks! I hope you enjoy “Unborn” more than I did.

Track List Line Up
01. Neuro Osmosis
02. Prophecy
03. Zombie Blood Curse
04. Decapitate
05. Incision
06. Fragment
07. Alive To Kill You
08. The Snister Craving
09. Inferno
10. Psychosis
11. The Curse Of Ancients
Chris Barnes – Vocals, Lyrics
Steve Swanson – Guitars
Jeff Hughell – Bass
Kevin Talley – Drums
Ola Englund – Guitars