[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 7
Label: Napalm Records
Website: Link
Author: Andrew Koran[/colored_box]

Coming from Germany Atrocity is a single occasion of a mysterious band with almost a chameleon attitude as far as their music is concerned. From the early death /grind days, to technical death metal, to gothic metal, to melodic industrial metal and nowdays to this melodic industrial symphonic death metal! A bit confusing, one can say, and I couldn’t agree more. Having a strong name in the metal music industry Atrocity’s mastermind Alexander Krull has managed to obtain a high class name for his band although the confusing changes of genres they attempted once in a while. After 2004’s “Atlantis” though, the sound is more metal oriented than in the past.

Here on “Okkult” their tenth full length album, you’ll get to hear high tempo melodic death metal, done the swedish way, but with the enrichment of their sound with keys and choirs the result surely is something far more than just death metal.

I have to admit that lyrically I can’t find any interest at all. Musically, I’ll have to say that I was amazed by the “octopus” performance of drummer Joris, that surely gave the songs the energy they needed to sound straight forward and aggressive! At some point I hadn’t heard such music lately in terms of how rotten and modern these songs sound simultaneously. Fast and boilking riffs, Brutal growls and some industrial glence here and there complete the puzzle.

Summing it all up, I’m forced to say that, despite the energy and the obvious abilities accompanied with the excellent crystal clear mix, after the first half of songs playing on my stereo, I started getting a bit tired. When the record got to the end, I really needed to listen something less intriguing and confined. This weird personal identity and bizarre mixture of sound walls ATROCITY’s music is about, really confused me for the outcome.

All of you who want to dare, give yourselves the cahance and you might find something special.. The rest just stay away, because there’s nothing you’ll miss after all…

Track List Line Up
02.Death By Metal
03.March Of The Undying
04.Haunted By Demons
05.Murder Blood Assassination
06.Necromancy Divine
07.Satans Braut
10.When Empires Fall To Dust
11.Beyond Perpetual Ice
12.La Voisine
Alexander Krull – Vocals
Thorsten Bauer – Guitar
Sander Van der meer – Guitar
JB van der Wal – Bass
Joris Nijenhuis – Drums