[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 9
Label: Svart Records
Website: Link
Author: Kostas Tsotsanis[/colored_box]

Remember when there was a time for bands to release a debut record and totally become a major success? Well, we haven’t seen something close to that since the eighties or the nineties. The natural progress for a band is to gain fans and fame throughout some releases and tours. However, Beastmilk, rise to break this rule, and the band’s debut record, “Climax“, is the record everyone talks about these days.

Beastmilk comes from Finland. The band has embraced the sound of gothic rock or post punk of the nineties and the eighties, totally reminding bands as Sisters of Mercy, Fields of Nephilim as well as Killing Joke. The band themselves and the global music press describes the band’s music as death rock. No matter how we label Beastmilk, the sound they have created and “Climax’s” influence has not been created since two decades ago. Hardcore fans may disagree with the vintage look back Beasmilk and many other bands tend to fancy, but in my opinion, a band sounding like Beastmilk is renewing and as fresh as a modern sounding band. Music’s timeline as it is noticeable isn’t like history’s or technology’s. Setbacks do not exist, only bands influencing bands, music influencing persons.

Getting back to “Climax“, the record consists of hits and only hits. It is an addictive one. Catchy music and catchy vocal lines. The songs heavily remind me of Sisters of Mercy or The Cure’s punk influenced early years. Kvohst’s voice and English accent totally bonded with the dark and deep sound of Beastmilk, is a strong ace in the sleeve of the band. While listening to the album, the vocals are the first thing for someone to notice and admire. Then, the next thing to notice is the guitars and the old-school, vintage sound. Sometimes distorted, sometimes clean and delayed, the melodies hunt, becoming an ethereal majesty. The riffs of ‘The Wind Blows Through Their Skulls’ or ‘Surf the Apocalypse’ for example can never be erased from the memory of the listener, and the whole record was replaying in my head for days.

The record is produced by Kurt Ballou. Kurt is the guitarist of Converge and he did an excellent work, dealing with ‘Climax’ and Beastmilk generally. The lyrics are referring to love or destruction, death or social disorder sang under the dancing lullabies of Beastmilk’s overwhelming sounds. With ‘Genocidal Crush’ to be the peak and the best moment of ‘Climax’, along with ‘Strange Attractors’ and ‘Death Reflects Us’,  the debut of Beastmilk makes us only to demand another record as soon as possible.

For those who have not listened to ‘Climax’ until now, I totally recommend them to listen to English post-punk history, along with the gothic rock of the past decades. Then they will be able to lose themselves into the void of the record, never wanting to come out. Beastmilk will have to struggle to compose something better than their debut record, but I tend to believe that they will achieve it.

Track List Line Up
01. Death Reflects Us
02. The Wind Blows Through Their Skulls
03. Genocidal Crush
04. You Are Now Under Our Control
05. Ghosts out of Focus
06. Nuclear Winter
07. Fear Your Mind
08. Love in a Cold World
09. Sulf the Apocalypse
10. Strange Attractors
Kvohst – Vocals
Goatspeed – Guitars
Paile – Drums
Arino – Bass 8XBET KUBET 188BET kubet kubet88 kubet77 kubet11 kubet casino tải kubet kubet đăng nhập đăng nhập kubet kubet mobile kubet79 kubet86 kubet win kubet kim kubet888 đăng ký kubet dang nhap kubet link kubet kubet 11 thabet và kubet dang ky kubet kubet 77 kubet 88 game kubet trang chủ kubet link vào kubet kubet thien ha kubet ku casino kubet online kubet 86 kubet99 tại kubet kubet3 kubet789 kubet 69 kubet thiên hạ tải kubet ios kubet 868 kubet 89 kubet79 me kubet ac kubet 79 kubet official kubet365 kubet link kubet 24h kubet 777 kubet 18 kubet 711 kubet lừa đảo kubet bet thienhabet kubet kubet 365 kubet999 kubet88 đăng nhập casino kubet trang kubet kubet 888 kubet 111 tải kubet casino kubet7 download kubet kubet vip kubet tải kubet casino nét kubet bị bắt kubet dang nhap kubet tha tha kubet kubet download kubet apk tải game kubet link đăng nhập kubet nha cai kubet ku casino kubet kubet nét tải kubet vip kubet khuyến mãi vao kubet kubet88 casino kubet88 win tại kubet 88 hỗ trợ kubet kubet viêt kubet pro link đăng ký kubet kubet online nét đại lý kubet bị bắt kubet android chơi kubet link tải kubet kubet7777 vào kubet thien ha kubet kubet24 kubet 68 kubet dv vnkubet kubet cho iphone ku777 kubet