“The Other Side”, a brand new song from ALTER BRIDGE, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band’s fifth studio album, “The Last Hero”, which will be released on October 7 by Caroline Records in the United States/Canada and Napalm Records throughout the rest of the globe.

“The Last Hero” is now available for pre-order via iTunes, Amazon and Google Play. The album is also available in various fan bundles at

Fans who pre-order the album digitally will now receive four tracks from “The Last Hero”: “Show Me A Leader”, “My Champion”, “Poison In Your Veins” and “The Other Side”.

“The Last Hero” was produced by longtime friend and collaborator Michael “Elvis” Baskette (SLASH, TREMONTI, TRIVIUM) and mastered by Grammy Award winner Ted Jensen.

Asked what ALTER BRIDGE was hoping to accomplish with “The Last Hero”, frontman Myles Kennedy told Metal Insider: “It’s funny, I’m never the guy who goes into a record with expectations. I think the expectation, first and foremost, with any song or record is to just try and tap into the truth of it all. You’re not going ‘I want to write a hit!’ or ‘I going to write a song that’s going to do this or do that!’ Generally the ones that resonate are the ones where you’re being real with yourself. So that was the goal here.

“With this record in particular, there was a lot going on. It’s definitely a snapshot of a short window because the lyrics were put together as we were arranging the record during the first few months of this year. And there was a lot going on, watching the news, paying attention to campaigns and race relations, and just the environment around us. This record was definitely influenced more so than anything by the current state of affairs. So this record kind of tells a story about that. We’re certainly not pushing any sort of agenda or political views by any means, but we’re definitely diving into and taking the pulse of the world around us.”

“The Last Hero” track listing:

01. Show Me A Leader
02. The Writing On The Wall
03. The Other Side
04. My Champion
05. Poison In Your Veins
06. Cradle To The Grave
07. Losing Patience
08. This Side Of Fate
09. You Will Be Remembered
10. Crows On A Wire
11. Twilight
12. Island Of Fools
13. The Last Hero

ALTER BRIDGE is Myles Kennedy on vocals/guitars, Mark Tremonti on guitars/vocals, Brian Marshall on bass and Scott Phillips on drums.

Photo credit: Carlos Amoedo