Nuclear Blast Records has set a May 22 release date for “The Miskolc Experience”, the new CD/DVD from Swedish progressive/experimental metallers THERION.

The set’s description reads as follows: “After the phenomenal last studio album ‘Gothic Kabbalah’ (2007), easily THERION’s most stunning effort since ‘Theli’, and the follow-up live CD ‘Live Gothic’ (2008), THERION mastermind and only remaining founding member Christofer Johnsson decided to go for a rather special project: the band’s appearance at the remarkable and renowned International Opera Festival in Miskolc, Hungary in 2007 was taped on and off stage to preserve a truly unique classic metal event for the THERION fanbase! The first part — dubbed ‘Classical Adventures’ — features some of Christofer’s favourite composers (especially his all-time fave, Wagner) and does completely without guitars or any metal instrumentation whatsoever. Just orchestra and choir. Part two, ‘Therion Songs’, delivers exactly that: finest THERION material performed by the band, a huge orchestra and choir. Rounding off ‘The Miskolc Experience’ is an entertaining documentary which gives insight in the complicated organisation and the no less complicated execution with all ups and downs for the involved crew and musicians.

“‘The Miskolc Experience’ is the testimony of the brilliant Johnsson/Niemann/Niemann/Karlsson THERION lineup which Christofer Johnsson decided to dissolve in late 2008. This chapter of THERION is closed, a new era is about to begin — and THERION will soon open the book once again!”

DVD + CD track listing:

Part 1 – Classical Adventures: (44 min.)

01. Clavicula Nox
02. Dvorak: Excerpt from Symphony no. 9
03. Verdi: Vedi! le fosche notturne spotigle from Il Trovatore
04. Mozart: “Dies Irae” from Reqiuem
05. Saint-Saens: Excerpt from Symphony No. 3
06. Wagner: “Notung! Notung! Niedliches Schwert!” from The Ring
07. Wagner: Excerpt from the Overture from Rienzi
08. Wagner: Second part of “Der Tag ist da” from Rienzzi
09. Wagner: First part of “Herbei! Herbei!” from Rienzi

Part 2 – Therion Songs: (66 min.)

01. Blood Of Kingu
02. Sirius B
03. Lemuria
04. Eternal Return
05. Draconian Trilogy
06. Schwartsalbenheim
07. Via Nocturna
08. The Rise Of Sodom And Gomorrah
09. Grand Finale

Bonus Features (DVD only):

* Documentary (20 min.)
* Therion Goes Classic – Bucharest (16 min.)