MoonspellVocalist Fernando Ribeiro of Portuguese metallers MOONSPELL has issued the following update:

“The new album proceeds and we will do a second pre-production with Benny Ricther in late July and Mike [Miguel Gaspar] will record drums for these songs, most likely in Germany. The rest of the album will be tracked by us and Tue Madsen during the month of August. Once the music is done, we will be able to give a better insight into this new concept and way of making things. Until then we count the days until we are able to match our big words with one of the most exciting collection of songs we ever worked in as composers.”

Ribeiro previously revealed that the new MOONSPELL album’s initials are “A.N.” and that it will tentatively surface in early 2012 through an as-yet-undetermined record label.

MOONSPELL completed the “Sombra” (English translation: Shadow) tour of Portugal in November-December. The band performed acoustic and semi-acoustic versions of its best-known songs while backed by the Crystal Mountain Singers female choir and the Opus Diabolicum quintet composed of four cellists and a percussionist.

MOONSPELL released a DVD, “Lusitanian Metal”, in December 2008 in Europe via Century Media Records.

The band’s latest album, “Night Eternal”, entered the national chart in Portugal at No. 3 and in Germany at No. 62. The follow-up to 2006’s “Memorial” was recorded at Antfarm studios in Denmark with producer Tue Madsen (THE HAUNTED, DARK TRANQUILLITY, HALFORD).

moonspell 2010