Legendary San Francisco Bay Area gore grind act AUTOPSY will release a new DVD, “Born Undead”, on June 5 in the U.S. via Peaceville Records (May 28 in Europe).

The “Born Undead” DVD charters AUTOPSY’s birth, death and rebirth with an extensive documentary conducted with the bandmembers themselves, as they describe how the beast came to be, and the impact their music has had on the metal world over a span of more than 20 years. The film also documents the band’s long-awaited return to the studio and stage, and includes rehearsal footage of both new tracks and old classics for their live comeback assault. The trio of 2010 reunion shows are all featured here, with all the best classic tracks from Maryland Deathfest, Party.San Open Air festival and Hole In The Sky in Norway, where the trio of Chris Reifert, Eric Cutler and Danny Coralles was joined by Dan Lilker (NUCLEAR ASSAULT, BRUTAL TRUTH) on bass.

With hours of footage as well as extras, including the band’s promotional video for the song “All Tomorrow’s Funerals”, “My Corpse Shall Rise” and more, “Born Undead” is the ultimate set for all AUTOPSY and metal maniacs alike. The DVD also contains artwork from Kent Mattieu, who had collaborated with the band on their early classic (and often controversial) album covers.

A one-and-a-half-minute trailer for “Born Undead” can be seen below.

AUTOPSY is currently working on all new material for its next album, due out late 2012/early 2013. The band states, “We can definitely promise more of what you would expect from AUTOPSY. There will be no compromise and no holding back. If you want 100% pure death metal brutality, you will certainly get it.”

“Macabre Eternal”, the first full-length album from AUTOPSY since 1995’s “Shitfun”, sold around 600 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 67 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Macabre Eternal” was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California and includes AUTOPSY’s first 10-plus minute song “Sadistic Gratification”.

AUTOPSY had previously decided to make an official comeback after working together on two songs for the special 20th-anniversary edition of debut album, “Severed Survival”, in late 2008; the band having originally split before the release of its fourth album, “Shitfun”, in 1995. A five-song EP, “The Tomb Within”, came out last September and saw the original trio of Chris Reifert, Danny Coralles and Eric Cutler joined on bass by Joe Trevisano (ex-ABSCESS).

Source: www.blabbermouth.net