German thrash metal veterans DESTRUCTION will enter the studio at the end of July to begin recording their 30th-anniversary album for a November release via Nuclear Blast Records. Vocalist/bassist Marcel “Schmier” Schirmer states, “[We are] recording the demos for the new album now. Eight songs are written and it feels great… Amazing teamwork so far! [I] can’t wait to nail down the new shit in the studio! [Drummer] Vaaver [real name: Wawrzyniec Dramowicz] will make the job of a lifetime. The new record will be much more intense than ‘Day Of Reckoning’! And that wasn’t a blues album …haha!”

DESTRUCTION recently completed the North American “30th Year Anniversary Tour” with support from WARBRINGER, VITAL REMAINS (who were alternating each night) and PATHOLOGY.

Inspired by IRON MAIDEN, MERCYFUL FATE, MOTÖRHEAD and VENOM, DESTRUCTION was formed as KNIGHT OF DEMON in 1982. The band’s original lineup included vocalist and bassist Marcel “Schmier” Schirmer, drummer Tommy Sandmann, and guitarist Mike Sifringer. They soon changed their name to DESTRUCTION and released a demo titled “Bestial Invasion Of Hell” in 1984.

“Day Of Reckoning”, the latest album from DESTRUCTION, sold around 800 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 58 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Day Of Reckoning” was the first album to feature DESTRUCTION’s new drummer Vaaver (INDUKTI, ex-UNSUN).