Swedish progressive metallers OPETH performed a special “unplugged” show this past Friday , November 16 at the Union Chapel in London, England.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Heritage
02. Credence
03. In My Time Of Need
04. Häxprocess
05. Var Kommer Barnen In? (HANSSON DE WOLFE UNITED cover)
06. Solitude (BLACK SABBATH cover)
07. Benighted
08. Demon Of The Fall
09. Hope Leaves
10. Atonement
11. Marrow Of The Earth

Fan-filmed video footage of the concert can be seen below.

In a recent interview, OPETH frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt stated about where the idea to do an acoustic show came from, “We’re constantly looking for new ways to push things forward with the live set. We’ve done so many, so to speak, run-of-the-mill type of tours, meat-and-potatoes type of tours where we just go up and play our songs. So this is a little bit of an odd thing, which both makes me excited and a bit nervous; I kind of wanna run away and hide. We’ve never done unplugged shows. I’m not sure if it’s gonna be ‘unplugged’ unplugged; it’s just gonna be laid back. But it was out manager, Andy [Farrow of Northern Music Company, who came up with the idea of doing this]. He’s constantly working with the band what we can do, and we say ‘yes’ or ‘no.’ So this was his idea, because he had done a show there with Devin Townsend before, and said it’s a beautiful place and it would really fit our music. And our discography is quite diverse and we can do things like that, so we figure, why not?”

Asked what he enjoys about the live acoustic format, Mikael said, “Well, there’s more emotion in our playing, firstly because the volume is lower, and I always felt that singing clean is more… it looks more emotional than when I’m doing full-on metal. We sound really good as a band when we kind of hold back a little bit. We sound good when we play really heavy and fast [as well], but when we play those heavy songs, I kind of tend to listen to what I’m doing as opposed to what we’re doing. So when we kind of take it down a little bit, we become more of a band.”

Source: www.blabbermouth.net