Source: Blabbermouth

Philip Anselmo, legendary frontman of PANTERA and DOWN, will release his career-first solo album, “Walk Through Exits Only”, on July 16 via his own Housecore Records (MRI/Megaforce). “Walk Through Exits Only”will be available digitally, on CD and on vinyl.

Produced by Anselmo and Michael Thompson, and recorded over the past couple of years at Philip‘s New Orleans studio, Nodferatu’s Lair, with his band THE ILLEGALS — guitarist Marzi Montazeri(ex-SUPERJOINT RITUAL) and drummer José Manuel Gonzales(WARBEAST) — “Walk Through Exits Only” is abrasive, aggressive, anthemic and 100% Anselmo. The album’s eight songs are as unstrained as it gets, from “Battalion Of Zero” to “Usurper’s Bastard Rant”, to the album’s title track that goes against the grain and right through the exits. Brash, brutal guitars cut through punishing percussion as Anselmoscreams with uncompromising ferocity and uncontainable fire.

“Walk Through Exits Only” track listing:

01. Music Media Is My Whore
02. Battalion Of Zero
03. Betrayed
04. Usurper Bastard’s Rant
05. Walk Through Exits Only
06. Bedroom Destroyer
07. Bedridden
08. Irrelevant Walls And Computer Screens

The official video for the song “Bedridden” can now be seen below.

“It wasn’t about doing a paint-by-numbers thrash or heavy metal record,”Anselmo explained about the project. “It’s an angry album that only I could do. I don’t see anybody else out there screaming about the same shit I’m screaming about. On this album, there isn’t any wordplay, there isn’t any hidden message, it’s all right there in front of you.”

The genesis of “Walk Through Exits Only” proved both comfortable and natural for its architect. In fact, everything began to slowly come together in the frontman’s New Orleans home back in 2010.

“It started right there in the fucking black bedroom where I haunt,” he smiles. “When I get an itch, I’ve got to scratch it. The sole idea at the beginning was to be unorthodox. It wasn’t about doing a paint-by-numbers thrash or heavy metal record. I’ve always believed there are different elements of groove. It’s definitely not a cemented science. It’s an angry album that only I could do. I don’t see anybody else out there screaming about the same shit I’m screaming about. I tried to portray it as personally as I possibly could.”

Gonzales puts it best. “I think it’s going to put the rock ‘n’ roll back in extreme music,” he says. “That combination is very different. For as extreme as it is, it’s controlled chaos.”

“It’s meant to be very unpredictable,” Anselmo affirms. “When I hear enough of the same thing, I want to rebel. That was a key factor. Right when you think you’ve got it pegged, it goes in a different direction. That’s what keeps things interesting.”

In order to harness that unpredictability and realize his vision, he enlisted the talents of longtime friend Houston-based shredder Montazeri. Filling the seat behind the kit is Gonzales, who entered the fold at the tender age of 19. Back at Anselmo‘s studio Nodferatu’s Lair, they recorded in spurts between DOWN‘s own rigorous recording and touring schedule. In the process of those intense sessions alongside engineer Stephen “The Big Fella” Berrigan, the record was born.

“There’s nobody like Philip,” says Montazeri. “For years, I’ve always wanted to do something completely original and meaningful with him. I’m just trying to bring something pure to this. Nothing gets in the way of this band’s purity. When all of us get together, it’s automatic. If I have an idea, Philip always welcomes it. We share a love for extreme music, and I feel like we’ve got an unbreakable bond.”

Gonzales agrees, “These guys pushed me to limits I didn’t even know I could be pushed to. We’ve been able to create something really special together.”

The world’s proper introduction to PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALScame on the “War Of The Gargantuas” split with WARBEAST at the top of 2013. The two songs included on the split — “Conflict” and “Family, Friends, and Associates” — were only a separate and small taste of what was come to come on the full-length though.

In many ways, “Walk Through Exits Only” embodies the same underground spirit and ethos that Anselmo has proudly possessed for his whole life. Since his career began, he consistently shined light on what was happening beneath the typical “surface” of music, whether by invitingMORBID ANGELEYEHATEGODCROWBAR, or NEUROSIS onto aPANTERA tour or donning a DARKTHRONE or MAYHEM t-shirt on television or in a major publication. He’s gone against the grain, past the tides, and right through the exits. Now, that sentiment pipes through loud and clear on the record’s viciously vital title track.

“It does create an unorthodox approach to things,” Anselmo continues. “The hook is a powerful line. Why make music the ‘right’ way? There really aren’t any fucking rules. You’ve got to simply take what’s there and make it your own.”

The opener “Music Media Is My Whore” lays all speculation to rest with its focused pummeling. About the title, he laughs, “I’ve gotten my share of fucking licks from the media over the years. I figured I’d give them one back. Lyrically, there was always something driving me though. I couldn’t put my finger on it for the longest time, but it’s very reality-based. I didn’t mince any words.”

“The message comes across in a crazy way,” adds Montazeri. “That goes for the entire record though. There’s no similarity between this and any other band. It breaks from tradition.”

Not only does “Walk Through Exits Only” break from tradition, it lays the groundwork for a new road.

“Fuck another chapter,” concludes Anselmo. “This is a whole new book. Some might call it ambitious. I say it’s natural. I can do anything I want with this, and I will. I want people to take that unpredictability with them. If you’re in a younger band, I want you to realize you don’t have to play by the fucking rules. I want everyone to see that there’s a lot more to the story than they’d ever realized when it comes to me. You can’t and won’t be able to tell what comes next from the kid. You can’t pin me down unless it’s in my own fucking corner which will be painted black and say, ‘Reserved for Philip H. Anselmo.’ You’re very welcome to do that.”

The official listening and release party for “Walk Through Exits Only” will be held on Saturday, July 13 at 10:00 p.m. at Duff’s Brooklyn in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

The address is:

Duff’s Brooklyn
168 Marcy Avenue (between S 5th & Broadway)
Williamsburg, New York

For more information, visit

“Bedridden” video:

“Walk Through Exits Only” (song) audio stream:

“Usurper’s Bastard Rant” audio stream: