Studio Report
Acid Death – Eidolon
Artworks Studio

Acid Death is a band with a very big history. They were formed back in 1989, they released 2 studio albums, “Pieces Of Manking” in 1997 and “Random’s Manifest” in 2000, plus some other releases (demos, ep, split), they splitted in 2001, and in 2011 they decided to return! Their new studio album that hasn’t been released yet is called “Eidolon”, and in March 11, the band hosted a listening session of their new record and Metalpaths was one of the guests. The session took place in Artworks Studios.

I liked the record a lot. “Eidolon” is a very good record. First of all it has variety. It includes classic Acid Death songs like “Blind Reflection” and “Crossing The Line” (the 2 songs that open the record), a song that is much slower than the others, “Towards Hate”, a thrash song, “Odious Maggots”, plus a lot of groovy parts and new elements. The album is progressive with the true meaning of the word. You will need to listen to the album a couple of times in order to understand it, but although we listened to it only one time, it absorbed me. The album also has very strong cohesion (some songs are “connected” with each other). Great work was done in the guitars and the bass, the vocals are very powerful, and the drums are excellent! You will listen to some very good drumming in “Eidolon”. The band has worked a lot for this record and the final result shows that it was worth it. The production of the album is also killer. A very good comeback from Acid Death.

Before and after we listened to “Eidolon” we talked with Acid Death about the record, the band, and some other stuff. The atmosphere was very friendly, we talked a lot and we had a very good time listening to the album. I am looking forward to its release so that I can listen to it a lot of times and understand it better!

Track List Line Up
01. Blind Reflection
02. Crossing The Line
03. Towards Hate
04. Convict 655321
05. Inside My Walls
06. No Sky Above
07. Eidolon
08. Odious Maggots
09. Dying Alone
10. Sole Truth (Instrumental)
Savvas Betinis (Bass guitar/Lead vocals)
Dennis Kostopoulos (lead & rhythm guitars)
GusK (lead & rhythm guitars)
Kostas Alexakis (drums & percussion)

Report: Panos “Thrasher” Bantzis.