It is so nice and sometimes so easy when thinking about bands like Vomitory. It is nice because you know that you will always listen something full of quality, totally brutal, rough, raw and uncompromising in all ways. And it is easy because most of the times you know you won’t be disappointed, so the only thing left to do is get close to the exact album at the exact moment.

This is the seventh release by the Swedes, a lesson in pure aggression, direct playing and HEAVY riffing with classic double bass fillings. I think that they hadn’t done such a good album the last seven years, since the release of the masterpiece called ”Blood Rapture”, back in 2002. Not that the two previous albums, ”Primal Massacre” and ”Terrorize Brutalize Sodomize” were not good, the opposite. But here seems to be a missing link that these two albums didn’t have. Everything sounds right and the overall sum is that we have to do with an album that its songs are more tied to each other and as a unit specially.

The initial track ”The Carnage Rages On”, just by the title, gets you straight to the point of what the album will bring later and what the years to pass will sound like in the future. Also, we have to mention ”Deadlock” as well as the two ”less than 3 minutes tracks” meaning ”Rage Of Honour” and ”Possessed”. We are talking about straight to the core total massacre, the swedish way. Sometimes they remind me of Unleashed in the early years. They can play so fast without needing blastbeats, and this makes the result even more obsessive to the metal fan.

I loved this album from the beginning. While i had started worrying about the band’s route and future, this album brings me back to place. Whoever of you doesn’t know the band, it is a golden chance once you get to find it, to become one with it. Vomitory have no new incidents in their death metal. Just played the way it should be, the Northerns delivered the goods once again. Praise to them also that all these years they remain in Metal Blade, a really demanding record company.

Since they believe in them continuously, why don’t we do the same after all?

Track List Line Up
01. The Carnage Rages On
02. Serpents
03. A Lesson In Virulence
04. Ripe Cadavers
05. Rage Of Honour
06. The Ravenous Dead
07. Deadlock
08. Rebirth Of The Grotesque
09. Possessed
10. Great Deceiver
Erik Rundqvist: Vocals, Bass
Peter Ostlund: Guitar
Urban Gustafsson: Guitar
Tobias Gustafsson: Drums