What is really going on with The Black Dahlia Murder? How did their name become one of the hottest in the new metal scene? It surely needs luck, the right momentum and a good company to support you besides others. But also, it needs capability to write good songs, be able to perform them live and above all, personality and hard work. TBDM has all these in advance and that’s why they attract more fans as days pass by.

”Deflorate” is their fourth full length album, continuing to where its predecessor ”Nocturnal” stood. Once again we have full energy, fast tunes with a lot of blastbeats, diverse riffing and Trevor Strnad spilling his guts out. This album marks the entrance of new guitar player Ryan Knight, who replaced long time member John Kempainen and seems to have fitted great with the others.

They seem to have fully left behind the downfall on the ”Miasma” album, which was a rather unequal album, especially compared to their magnum opus, debut ”Unhallowed”. This started with ”Nocturnal” and seems to continue here in the best possible way. I hope they will go on like this and it is sure that once Knight obtains experience with live presences, he will add his own colors to the band’s music.

As far as the songs are concerned, they are pretty short, with ”Necropolis” getting easier to listen to from the beginning with its characteristic riff, that’s why they have done a video clip for this one. Also, ”Death Panorama” and ”Throne Of Lunacy” are a little better amongs equal material. The other good thing is that in live occasions, the new material will work far better.

After all, that’s the force of every band, and TBDM is known in these first years of their existence for being smashing and unbelievably direct while playing live, that’s why they have gained great responses and also have taken part in enormous tours, featuring support in other great bands or even headlining shows with the support of other bands older than them. Their future seems bright and sales will increase if they go on like this. For future proof, we’ll just be waiting.

Track List Line Up
01. Black Valor
02. Necropolis
03. A Selection Unnatural
04. Denounced, Disgraced
05. Christ Deformed
06. Death Panorama
07. Throne of Lunacy
08. Eyes of Thousand
09. That Which Erodes the Most Tender
10. I Will Return
Trevor Strnad – vocals
Brian Eschbach – guitar
Shannon Lucas – drums
Ryan “Bart” Williams – bass guitar
Ryan Knight – guitar