After a 16-year-break,the New Yorkers are back in the  discography industry with the release of their new album. Since their last and rather successful album in 1994 “The Space Age Playboys”,which Lars Ulrich claimed to be his favourite album, and several attempts of leader Kory Clarke to experiment in different projects,”Destroy The War Machine” could probably be characterized not only as the Warrior Soul’s anticipated album,but Kory’s personal “Ithake” as well.

We could expect nothing but accurate performance and very well-executed production  from the American rockers with the long and turbulent music route,and that is what we get while listening to “Destroy The War Machine”.All 8 tracks are easily listened from the start till the end of the album; the powerful hard rock style and rebel attitude-the familiar Warrior Soul’s characteristics-are obvious in the new album too,however combined with some innovative mood and progressive details as in “Don’t Believe” .I also found a very pleasant and playful cover of Iggy Pop’s “Knocking ’em Down” closing the album.

“Destroy The War Machine” is an album that keeps balance between heavy metal tactics and hard rock solos,with a smooth touch of glam details,without being excessive though.Caustic themes remain the band’s priority as far as lyrics and artwork are concerned; a feature  that can be easily observed from the first contact  with the album’s cover and track-list.Their punk attitude and their intensive politicalized  mood is more timely than ever .

Warrior Soul’s fans must have expected the new album for a long time and “Destroy The War Machine” is probably the kind of album which meets those expectations.Some may claim that this reunion was the “ultimate solution” from the part of Warrior Soul veterans after several years of quest but what I see is a fresh large music appetite which gives me hope to see more from the New York rockers in less than another 16 years!

For those who are not Warrior Soul’s fans but suckers for American hard rock,bluesy/throaty vocals, experienced performance and “against the system”  attitude,well,that is an album that won’t come out from  your car cd players for quite long!

Track List Line Up
01. Fuck The Pigs
02. The Fourth Reich
03. Motot City
04. Don’t Believe
05. Burning Bridges
06. Bad News (Rock ‘n Roll Boyfriend)
07. She’s Glaswegian
08. Knocking ’em Down (In The City)
Kory Clarke – Vocals
Johnny H – Guitar
Rille Lundell – Guitar
Janne Jarvis – Bass
Billy Williams – Drums