The ways of progress, have originally been used as that one step forward to the unusual, unheard and in terms of perception different. Cynic, have been proving their progressive intensions, since their formation back in early 90s and their re-formation a few years ago. Meanwhile, almost every Cynic member, has been involved in numerous releases, out of the ordinary and out of the metal spectrum, in search of freedom of expression and because being a musician does not necessary mean that you should be restricted into a specific way of playing, or a specific sound result. Well, here’s the brief story of what Cynic is all about! I didn’t mention anything about the Ep though. So, here I go…

Having released “Traced In Air” a few years ago, Cynic showed their perspective for their new era soundwise and they really made it clear, that death metal has given space to progressive metal and everyone was, at least, overwhelmed for this brilliant comeback. “Re-traced” EP is a five piece release including 4 new interpretations of four tracks from “Traced In Air” and a new song (Wheels Within Wheels) which actually wasn’t used in the final tracklist of “Traced”. I should say that the new track is a really beautiful Cynic song in the likes of “Traced In Air” sound of course, great vocal lines and quite easygoing and beautiful as it ends this weird journey “Re-traced” should be called. As for the four songs reinterprated here, I should warn everyone, to the fact that electronic sounds have complete control and the chill out eletronic sound perspective, is more than obvious, in all these new versions. Clean vocals and melodies in full colour and summer relaxing mood, bearing the Cynic trademark everywhere, classical guitars, clean electric guitars, synth guitars, electronic drum beats, acoustic drum fills and a lot of psychedelic electronic sounds, construct these new versions.

It seems more than promising and interesting to hear it and it surely is, but I think that it’s not enough to quench the thirst for some new tracks, with more new music and more metal in them! Of course, if you consider having it on your way to a beach this summer, this is the ultimate summer hit release…Couldn’t be more Cynic?

Track List Line Up
01. Space
02. Evolutionary
03. King
04. Integral
05. Wheels Within Wheels
Paul Masvidal – guitar, vocals
Sean Reinert – drums
Robin Zielhorst – bass guitar
Tymon Kruidenier – guitar, death growls