Rhapsody Of Fire have been absent during the last 4 years since the release of “Triumph Or Agony” as many things have happened since then, for example their departure from Joey De Maio’s label, Magic Circle. Hopefully for them, as Manowar have long lost any sign of sanity.

So, the return of the Italian band –a legend for the fans of power/symphonic metal- materializes into a new record called “The Frozen Tears Of Angels” and from a first hearing, I firmly believe that this is their heaviest creation since 2004 and “Symphony of the Enchanted Lands pt. II” . Rhapsody have a unique gift of transferring us to the heart of the battlefield and in the depths of rocky mountains with their music. In the case of their new record, they still got it.

In my opinion, it’s the first time that Rhapsody of Fire manage to balance heavy and orchestral parts and I believe that this record will help them gain new fans among the metal community. Fabio Lione’s voice surely is shocking and along with Alex Staropoli’s and Luca Turilli’s composure and inspiration they make a masterpiece. The production and mixing is, one more time, exceptional and maybe it’s the first time that Rhapsody will sound almost that good in live performances because they’ve managed to cut out unnecessary orchestral parts that made them sound strange to classic heavy metal audiences. The outcome is a record filled with feelings and emotions and also the chaos of the battlefield.

It’s been a long time that I heard an album without any serious weaknesses and “The Frozen Tears Of Angels” is one of them. However, I cannot help but admit that the monuments of this album were “Sea Of Fate”, “Raging Starfire” and the great epic “The Frozen Tears Of Angels”.

Rhapsody Of Fire’s comeback after four long years couldn’t have been better as we are talking about their best work in years and one of the best albums of 2010. Enjoy…

Track List Line Up
01. Dark Frozen World
02. Sea Of Fate
03. Crystal Moonlight
04. Reign Of Terror
05. Danza Di Fuoco E Ghiaccio
06. Raging Starfire
07. Lost In Cold Dreams
08. On The Way To Ainor
09. The Frozen Tears Of Angels
Fabio Lione – Vocals
Luca Turilli – Guitar
Alex Staropoli – Keyboards
Patrice Guers – Bass
Alex Holzwarth – Drums