Since I was a youngster I was never deep into black metal scene. Yet there were bands and albums that always made me go crazy. Back then I got the first Enslaved album. “Frost” was its name and it really made me wonder. When I saw the band members in the back of the LP I was confused because I believed I would listen to something more epic. But their music really surprised me. It was so black metal. I didn’t like it at all. To be honest the LP record sat there on the shelf for a long time with dust being its only friend. Then after some years a friend of mine came by and asked me to put on the new album of Enslaved to listen. Yes I wasn’t excited at all. Well by the time the first song of “Monumension” ended I was eager to start and listen to all Enslaved albums. From then till now I am a big fan of them and their beautiful music.

I can’t get the right words to express the emotions that fill my soul with every Enslaved album – this time “Axioma Ethica Odini”. Album after album they seem to be more mature and so modern that each and every time is unique to listen to their music and let the mind float away. This is how extreme music should evolve. Their lyrical themes are once more well constructed and related to Norse mythology. Their musical approach is so original and yet so familiar. The black metal moments aren’t absent yet they are decreased. The clean vocals have more leading role than in any other time. You could also listen to some doom riff especially in the “Giants” track and the Pink Floyd’s elements are clearer here. There is no song that could get out as a great moment; the musical attempt is overall a masterpiece. So you can push the play button on your CD player and have a journey to the wisdom of old days and old ways to show you the path. With the enchanting riffs of “The Lightning” you will have the “Night Sight” to follow the doom monument of “Giants”. And then feel the anger and struggle to get released as the one “The Beacon”…

There are no more words… Let the Axioms and Ethics of Odin to guide you…

Track List Line Up
01. Ethica Odini
02. Raidho
03. Waruun
04. The Beacon
05. Axioma
06. Giants
07. Singular
08. Night Sight
09. Lightening
Grutle Kjellson – Vocals & Bass
Ivar Bjørnson – Guitars & FX
Ice Dale – Guitar
Cato Bekkevold – Drums
Herbrand Larsen – Keyboards & Vocals