After a long day, you always need something to take all the tension out of your system. Music is the key…
I gazed at the artwork of the new album of Children of Bodom, well I thought, “Not bad, not bad at all”, a typical CoB cover that started preparing me of what to expect next. “Relentless Reckless Forever “ is the 7th in order album of the Finnish Metalheads who have proved since1993 that they can challenge all of us with their ability to combine music technicality, speed and melodic elements all in one. Finnish Melodic Metal here meets Power metal, the patented death metal growls of Alexi, the unique guitar solos and the blistering tremendous leads made this guy to “climb” so high in what is so-called Metal scene.

Thrilled and anxious to “examine” the album I pushed the “play” button…So, here how it goes guys, the first song of the album preparing us in a way that the album will move on the same paths of their previous releases, a trademark in other words. “Not my funeral” , Laiho’s usual raspy vocals make the entrance, a blast full song. Heavy guitars, thrusting and great energy are the key elements in this one combined with melodic synth compilations and dark tunes justifying that Bodom do remember  their roots from the “Follow the Reaper”.

Thrashy riffs, shredding guitar solos, melodic hooks keep rolling and drumming that crushes one’s bones. The band still produces great sound, no wonder why three of their albums have climbed the Finnish charts to no1. The hallmarks of CoB are all here, the galloping guitar lines combined with counter-attacks of melodic keyboard tunes (the prog element is also apparent in “Relentless Reckless Forever”)are evident.

A song so heavy and dark yet so melodic in every single angle, “Relentless Reckless Forever” the homonymous song makes its way, this one, let me tell you it will go on and on inside your head, well it did in mine. Here once again prominent and melodic synths and energetic guitar solos amazingly constricted in every single bit.

“ Cry of the Nihilist” and “Ugly” are representative of CoB’s style, all furious and intense, with great virtuosity and technicality. On the other hand, the single “Was it worth it”, rules out the CoB tunes, it certainly has a “rock ‘n roll” sense that is different from the band’s typical sounds and somewhat more “commercial”.

But don’t get fooled guys, the album has nothing -in my point of view- unique, it still “rocks” let me tell you, but if you are thirsty for a step forward, your thirst won’t be exactly satisfied. We would definitely expect something more original and unique judging from the band’s previous work on “Hatebreeder” or “Something Wild”. However, the Finnish classic guitar shredding of Laiho’s supreme technicality, the hyperactive riffs, the explosive death metal growls and the high-wire stunt guitar tunes can definitely “electrify” metal crowds and they are present in “Relentless Reckless Forever “ . Children of Bodom stay on course with this one, that is, above all classic, defying their style once more and producing blistering and forceful metal.

Track List Line UP
01. Not My Funeral
02. Shovel Knockout
03. Roundtrip to Hell and Back
04. Pussyfoot Miss Suicide
05. Relentless Reckless Forever
06. Ugly
07. Cry of the Nihilist
08. Was It Worth It?
09. Northpole Throwdown
10. Party All the Time (Eddie Murphy cover) (Bonus Track)
Alexi Laiho – Vocals, Guitars
Henri Blacksmith – Bass
Roope Latvala – Guitars (rhythm)
Janne Warmen – Keyboards
Jaska Raatikainen – Drums