The band DGM is a progressive/power metal band from Italy. Their first release was a mini cd “Random Access Zone” in 1994. The band is active for almost 20 years, but unfortunately they never managed to achieve the extra step, so that they could get some more recognition.

“DGM” stands for “Diego,Gianfranco,Mauricio” the 3 founding members who ironically aren’t anymore in the band since 2006.  The band has released seven full-length albums so far with their last dated in 2007.  So after 5 years, it’s finally time to hear some new stuff from the Italian progsters.

As soon you press play you get immediately blown away from the heavy-fast killer riffing of the first track of the album, “Reason“, which features also the one and only Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob, Star One, Allen/Lande) who kills the song as always. The amazing solo sections which finish with a cool keyboard/guitar unison get you even more excited about what you’re gonna hear in the rest of the album. The second track “Trust” just shows us what prog metal is about and how much the band loves this genre. With cool changes in the song and weird melodies you get blown away.

When I heard the first 30 seconds of the track “Universe” I thought I was listening to a Kamelot song. Especially the double bass and the keyboard melodies in the back at the song’s intro remind you totally of Kamelot. Great vocal performance too. The couple of songs “Numb” and “Pages” are in the vibe which preponderates on almost the whole album. Speedy heavy proggy riffing with amazing musicianship and solo sections.

After many minutes of headbanging and great solo sections it’s time to get moved as the track “Repay” is a track you get introduced to with piano and string melodies and then turns to a power ballad with a very moving vocal performance and a cool solo. The vocals melodies get immediately stuck in your head.

What I forget to mention is the really EXCELLENT production, which is also an important factor so that you can enjoy a. album 100%. The album continues with the song “Chaos“, which features the amazing Jorn Viggo Lofstad from Pagan’s Mind. Again a song with a remarkable chorus as on most of the songs.

The track “Overload” is also one of my favorites. You get introduced to with a killer riff on piano and then followed by the guitar reminding very much of the latest Symphony X albums. Definitely a huge influence of them on this album. About the other tracks there isn’t really much to say, as they are in the vibe of the rest of the album.

So the conclusion is that this album is really amazing 10/10, production, musicianship, songwriting, vocal performance. Definitely their best and most mature album. Every fan of progressive metal should check definitely this album out!

Track List Line Up
01. Reason
02. Trust
03. Universe
04. Numb
05. Pages
06. Repay
07. Chaos
08. Remembrance
09. Overload
10. Void
11. Blame
Mark Basile – Vocals
Fabio Constantino – Drums
Andrea Arcangeli – Bass
Simone Mularoni – Guitars
Emanuele Casali – Keyboards