[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 8
Label: Frontiers Records
Website: Link
Author: Steve Drax[/colored_box]

Pretty Maids, the melodic heavy metal band from Denmark have recently released their thirteenth full-length album. They have been around for many years as they started as a cover band back in 1981 and covered mostly Thin Lizzy songs and after Ronnie Atkins joined the band they started writing their own material. Their music made quite an impact in the 80’s; they have won the Danish Grammy Award two times and had many line-up changes during their career. Their last album was “Pandemonium” that was released three years ago and was a big surprise for me. It contained some of the best songs they ever written at least in my opinion, where Pretty Maids showed their amazing song-writing abilities with some melodic songs like “Little Drops Of Heaven” or the heavier stuff like title track “Pandemonium”.

The new album is moving in the same pattern as its predecessor. It’s full of melodic heavy songs and Ronnie Atkins is responsible for a big part of these melodies. His voice is fantastic once more and seems like he gets better time after time. As expected, the album kicks in with a dynamic song called “Mother Of All Lies” that has a cheering mood and makes you feel good and it’s the first video that was made for “Motherland”. Next comes “To Fool A Nation” moves in the same mood as the first song but is kind of slower and has a hard rock edge. “Confession” in kind of an intro followed by “The Iceman” and I can say that the new album sounds darker especially in songs like this one.

The whole band is in great shape playing unbelievably good music, all parts are well-played and although the album sound less metal than their last album and has more radio songs it stills remains a great album and i really it’s hard rock approach. “Sad To See You Suffer” is a power ballad while “Hooligan” is one of the heaviest songs of the album. Another great song is “Infinity” followed by another really heavy song called “Why So Serious”. Jacob Hansen’s fantastic production matches the high standards of the name he is carrying and the artwork was made by Kai Brockschmidt who also made the “Pandemonium” cover. Title track “Motherland” speeds up the things a little bit and “I See Ghosts” and “Who What Where When Why” are in the same mood as the song “To Fool A Nation”. The Japanese version has one more song, a remix version of “Mother Of All Lies”. “Bullet For You” is another great power ballad as the last song “Wasted” that I liked the most of these radio hits songs of the album.

I really like the material that Pretty Maids have written in the two last album and i think that we will hear many great songs in the future from them, if they keep writing stuff like that. “Motherland” is a good album, probably not as good as “Pandemonium” but has tons of melodies, great well-written songs with an overall high musicality and i think that you should give it a shot.

Track List Line Up
01. Mother Of All Lies
02. To Fool A Nation
03. Confession
04. The Iceman
05. Sad To See You Suffer
06. Hooligan
07. Infinity
08. Why So Serious
09. Motherland
10. I See Ghosts
11. Bullet For You
12. Who What Where When Why
13. Wasted
Ken Hammer – Guitars
Shades – Bass
Morten Sandager – Keyboards
Allan Tschicaja – Drums
Ronnie Atkins – Vocals