[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 8
Label: Frontiers Records
Website: Link
Author: Steve Drax[/colored_box]

I’ve known Jorn Lande since the “Ark” era back in 2001 when they released “Burn The Sun”, one of the best prog records in the 00’s. I loved his voice and kinda become a follower in pretty much everything he was a part of in the past and future. Let’s see, Masterplan, Beyond Twilight, Millenium, Allen /Lande and many other live participations and guests… oh, I’ve lost the counting. And of course his solo work. I remember when I listened to “Worldchanger” for the first time; I was so blown away by the melodies of that album that I heard it several times in the day, even when I went for sleep.

The raven from Norway needs no introduction to the world of hard rock, heavy, prog and power metal. He is constantly working on music and as you may know his latest full-length album was released a year ago called “Bring Heavy Rock To The Land”, in the beginning of 2013 he released a compilation of his songs along with some covers rearranged and remixed with additional orchestral parts called “Symphonic” and without losing any time he released his eighth full-length album called “Traveller”.

As always the music is working as a carpet for Jorn Lande’s wonderful vocals that are obviously the thing that someone will immediately give attention to. Musically is close to what Jorn has got us used to the last years. It’s heavy metal with some hard rock passages reminding a lot of Black Sabbath, Rainbon and everything Dio was into. As you may know he is one of Dio’s biggest admirers and is kinda reflected in the way he is singing.

Take for example “Cancer Demon” which is a tribute to “Holy Diver”, or “Carry The Black” that reminds a lot of Black Sabbath with Dio era. “The Man Who Was King” is also a song that is a tribute to Dio, a man that has obviously influenced Jorn like no one did.  Bernt Jansen on bass (actually Espen Mjøen has written the bass parts in some songs too) and Willy Bendiksen on the drumkit set the rhythm, Jimmy Iversen plays some fantastic riffs while Trond Holter lays some amazing guitar solos throughout the album. It’s like the whole band is making way for Jorn to express himself. My favourite song of the album is probably “Window Maker” reminding a lot of Lande’s past works.

Tommy Hansen has played the keyboard parts and is responsible for the mixing and mastering of the album that was produced by Jorn Lande and Trond Holter. Felipe Machado Franco is once again responsible for the artwork of the album.

Traveller” is another good album by this magnificent singer. It has fine consistency, heavy music, some more melodic parts and is more than honest. You will find if very easy to listen and it may be good company while you are travelling. You have nothing to lose so give it a shot. It might surprise you.

Track List Line Up
01. Overload
02. Cancer Demon
03. Traveller
04. Window Maker
05. Make Your Engine Scream
06. Legend Man
07. Carry The Black
08. Rev On
09. Monsoon
10. The Man Who Was King
Jørn Lande – Vocals
Trond Holter – Guitars (lead)
Bernt Jansen – Bass
Jimmy Iversen – Guitars
Willy Bendiksen – Drums