Dutch female-fronted symphonic metal act EPICA entered Gate Studio in Wolfsburg, Germany on Monday, March 2 with producer Sascha Paeth to begin recording the follow-up to 2007’s “The Divine Conspiracy”, tentatively due before the end of the year via Nuclear Blast Records. According to the band, drummer Ariën van Weesenbeek “is doing great so far. The beast already nailed five songs; he’s been drumming for about 12 hours [on Tuesday]!”

A short video clip from the recording sessions can be viewed below.

Vocalist Simone Simons previously stated about EPICA’s new material, “It is so exciting! I love the new songs and can’t wait to play them live.”

“The Divine Conspiracy” was EPICA’s first full-length concept album. According to the band, “This concept deals with the theory that, as a test, God created all kinds of different religions and released those upon humanity to see if they would be able to find the true nature of them, realizing that in all religions it is actually the same. But there’s more to it; it also concludes the ‘Embrace That Smothers’ concept that could already be found on [2003’s] ‘The Phantom Agony’.”

Nuclear Blast Records released a limited deluxe CD edition in Europe of “The Divine Conspiracy”, featuring the bonus tracks “Higher High” and “Replica” (FEAR FACTORY cover), video clips and a “making-of” enhanced section.

Source: www.blabbermouth.net