“Anthropocentric”, the latest album from German THE OCEAN, sold around 400 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 113 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

The record, released in North America via Metal Blade on November 9, serves as a sequel to the concept explored on the band’s successful “Heliocentric” full-length, released this past spring. A critique on Christianity and man’s ultimate place in the universe, “Anthropocentric” is both musically and thematically compelling and currently flooring metallers across the land.

Due to “technical problems during the manufacturing process,” the release date of “Anthropocentric” has been pushed back to November 19 in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Italy; and November 22 in the rest of Europe. The CD will be released as a limited digipak containing special packaging with two dials on top of the digipak visualizing the concept of the two CDs.

“Anthropocentric” was completed at Studio Mecanique in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland, the same facility where the band’s previous effort, “Heliocentric”, was recorded and mixed. The new CD was mastered on August 25 by Svante Forsbäck in Helsinki.

“Anthropocentric” track listing:

01. Anthropocentric
02. The Grand Inquisitor I: Karamazov Baseness
03. She Was The Universe
04. For He That Wavereth…
05. The Grand Inquisitor II: Roots & Locusts
06. The Grand Inquisitor III: A Tiny Grain of Faith
07. Sewers Of The Soul
08. Wille Zum Untergang
09. Heaven TV
10. The Almightiness Contradiction
11. The Grand Inquisitor IV: Exclusion From Redemption

THE OCEAN recently toured Europe as the support act for THE DILLINGER ESCAPE. DILLINGER guitarist Ben Weinman joined THE OCEAN on stage at one of the shows to improv some piano parts to the song “The First Commandment Of The Luminaries” from “Heliocentric” offering.