Darkthrone LogoPeaceville Records has set a September 5 release date for the reissue of DARKTHRONE’s seventh album of primitive black metal, “Ravishing Grimness”, featuring new artwork selected by the band, plus a bonus commentary disc with Fenriz and Nocturno describing their inspirations, as well as memories from the time of recording.

DARKTHRONE began in the late ’80s as a thrash/death metal act and progressed through technical death/doom metal experimentation to become legends of the black metal world and one of the original leading bands of the Norwegian scene.

“Ravishing Grimness” was DARKTHRONE’s seventh studio album, originally released in 1999. The LP contained more mid-paced black metal than some of their previous releases — with CELTIC FROST-inspired riffs once again an important factor in DARKTHRONE’s music — as well as featuring more rock and punk elements than earlier albums. Most of the tracks on “Ravishing Grimness” were this time written by Nocturno Culto, as well as guest lyrics on “The Beast” appearing courtesy of Aldrahn and Fog (DØDHEIMSGARD).


Disc 1:

01. Lifeless
02. The Beast
03. The Claws of Time
04. Across the Vacuum
05. Ravishing Grimness
06. To the Death (Under the King)

Disc 2:

* As above, including commentary from Fenriz and Nocturno Culto

Darkthrone ravishing Grimness

Source: www.blabbermouth.net