Reactivated seminal technical metal pioneers ATHEIST have canceled their previously announced European tour which was scheduled to take place this month.

Commented the band: “Unfortunately, ATHEIST drummer Steve Flynn was forced to remain in the U.S. for an unavoidable personal commitment. This happened at the very last minute and has been communicated to you all as quickly as possible. Several options were entertained — fill-in drummer, shifting dates and others. However, on such short notice, these proved to be impossible. The band wishes to express its most heartfelt apologies for this happening. ATHEIST will do whatever it can to make it up to the fans and promoters who have worked so hard to support the band for these 25 years.”

Professionally filmed video footage of ATHEIST’s entire June 19, 2011 performance at Hellfest in Clisson, France can be viewed below (courtesy of Arte [Association Relative à la Télévision Européenne], a Franco-German TV network).

ATHEIST recently announced the addition of guitarist Jason Holloway to the group’s ranks following the departure of Jonathan Thompson, who took a job in the medical field. Both Holloway, 27, and new ATHEIST bass player Travis Morgan, 20, have taken part in the American, and European tour dates thus far on the band’s “Jupiter” world tour and “have brought a lot of new energy to ATHEIST,” according to frontman Kelly Shaefer.

ATHEIST is continuing to support its critically acclaimed new album, “Jupiter”, the band’s first studio CD in 17 years. The group’s first show of the year took place on February 12 at the Cabana Inn in Sarasota, Florida, on the 20th anniversary — to the day — of the loss of the band’s original bass player Roger Patterson. The concert marked the group’s debut appearance with new bass player Travis Morgan.

“Jupiter” landed at position No. 88 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Jupiter” was released on November 9, 2010 (one day earlier internationally) via Season Of Mist. The CD was recorded at LedBelly studios in Atlanta, Georgia with engineer Matt Washburn and was mixed by Jason Suecof (TRIVIUM, CHIMAIRA, DEVILDRIVER). The cover artwork was created by Eliran Kantor, who has previously worked with TESTAMENT, SIGH, ANACRUSIS and GWAR, among others.