The collaboration between Dutch female-fronted symphonic metallers WITHIN TEMPTATION and Q-Music gets a new episode: after the successful broadcast of several covers, which WITHIN TEMPTATION arranged and performed for the radio station by the end of 2012, the band will now release a selection of these covers on an album titled “The Q-Music Sessions” on April 19 in the Netherlands and Belgium.

In the run-up to the 15th anniversary of WITHIN TEMPTATION at the sold-out Sportpaleis in Antwerp, the band was asked by Q-Music to choose and perform an existing track in a “WITHIN TEMPTATION fashion” on a weekly basis. The band accepted this challenge enthusiastically that resulted in reworks of hits by DAVID GUETTA, PASSENGER, LANA DEL REY and BRUNO MARS, among others. The feedback on these covers by the fans and listeners of Q-Music was extremely positive, which made the band decide to release a selection of the covers on an album.

Commented WITHIN TEMPTATION singer Sharon Den Adel: “Our approach was to really make the cover a new WITHIN TEMPTATION song. So not going the easy way by using only a piano or an acoustic guitar, for example, but really trying to put all the elements of a WITHIN TEMPTATION track in this new version. It was quite a challenge, because we had only one week to get it right, while recording an original WITHIN TEMPTATION song can sometimes takes up half a year! But this pressure also gave us an creative boost and it was very rewarding to get it done in time each week. Also, we learned a lot from the in-depth analysis we needed to make on these hits, written by others, in combination with implementing our own sound and style in each new cover. We are glad that we’ve taken up this challenge and are very proud of the result.”

At the moment, WITHIN TEMPTATION is working on its upcoming studio album that is due in the last quarter of 2013. In January 2014, the band will embark on a worldwide tour, with tickets for shows in the United Kingdom, France and Germany already on sale.

“The Q-Music Sessions” track listing:

01. Grenade (originally by BRUNO MARS)
02. Titanium (originally by DAVID GUETTA ft. SIA)
03. Let Her Go (originally by PASSENGER)
04. Summertime Sadness (originally by LANA DEL REY)
05. Radioactive (originally by IMAGINE DRAGONS)
06. Crazy (originally by GNARLS BARKLEY)
07. Dirty Dancer (originally by ENRIQUE IGLESIAS)
08. Don’t You Worry Child (originally by SWEDISH HOUSE MAFFIA)
09. Behind Blue Eyes (originally by THE WHO)
10. The Power Of Love (originally by FRANKIE GOES TO HOLLYWOOD)
11. Apologize (originally by ONE REPUBLIC)