It’s been years since this “Roadsalt” concept has been put to question within the progressive fans’ conversations. From how it should sound to how it ended up sounding, and finally the biggest question how will the last part of it sound. Well, here we are, listening and analyzing “Roadsalt II” the next step for Pain of Salvation and the last part of the “Roadsalt” concept. Shall we?

As I’ve mentioned in previous reviews about the latest POS releases there’s a weird rule that takes place. Every previous release sounds better than the one that’s fresh. I don’t know how they manage to do so. Maybe all latest releases have this mature approach and need to grow inside the listener. Maybe, on the other hand, not being predictable at all, this band has learned all listeners and followers to be cautious of their every next step. I prefer to believe the first version with a slight taste of the second, both as general truths.

The same thing, dear readers and friends, I’m afraid happens here as well. Very close to the music approach and philosophy of “I”, “Roadsalt II” dives deep into the 60s sound, with a touch of 70s progressive rock. Vast orchestrations, beautifully placed in musical carpets, that create a wide path for Daniel to unveil his greatest “weapon” and simultaneously the only thing that stays untouched as far the brand POS stands. Thus being nothing else but his voice. Intriguing vocal lines, passion, expression, acting all are there as always. Blended to entertain to the maximum. As for the rest of the band, although they are there existing and performing extremely beautiful themes and generally contributing each one and all together as a team, they sound rather guided and not free at all. But in this band it has been this way since always isn’t it?

To sum it all up, in one last paragraphy, we can see, hear and say that Daniel Gildenlow, being the driving force of this band since day one, has choosen to walk to another level of music expression, which unfortunately has nothing to do with the band’s past and has even less to do with metal in general. I have to say as well, to be honest, there were moments in some of these songs, that if the distortion and the production was in the typical metal path. Then we might had been talking in aonther mood and not for somekind of departure but for just a sneak glimpse that soon will look back to our/his roots! Everyone, that had a good time listening “Roadsalt I” and “Linoleum” EP should listen to “Roadsalt II” as well and he/she would probably indulge him/herself. All others, on the other side, check it out but I’m afraid, that this might be completely out of your taste. I’m on the second category, so until the next one that will make me receive “Roadsalt II” as a better record than the one I’m listening now…

Track List Line Up
01. Road Salt Theme
02. Softly She Cries
03. Conditioned
04. Healing Now
05. To The Shoreline
06. Eleven
07. 1979
08. The Deeper Cut
09. Mortar Grind
10. Through The Distance
11. The Physics Of Gridlock
12. End Credits
Daniel Gildenlöw – lead vocals, guitars, bass guitar
Fredrik Hermansson – piano, mellotron, other keyboards
Johan Hallgren – electric guitars, backing vocals
Léo Margarit – drums, backing vocals