The band reviewed this time is one of the most legendary German thrash bands (alongside with Kreator and Sodom) releasing genre classics such as “Infernal Overkill“, “Eternal Devastation” and “Released From Agony“. Destruction also faced huge inside problems when mainman Schmier left the band in the early 90s – late 80s and went downhill in terms of quality. The band made a comeback in the late 90s with Schmier back behind the mic releasing albums like “All Hell Breaks Loose” (1999), “The Antichrist” (2001). Ever since they have released consistent albums not lacking great songs in them that could stand the test of live performances. The change of drummer a couple of years ago was a breath of fresh air on the band and this resulted to the great “Day Of Reckoning” (2011).

One year after that they return with “Spiritual Genocide“. After the atmospheric intro “Exordium” kicks in “Cyanide” with a drum intro and a crazy Schmier scream over thrashing riffs and one of the first tracks they played live from this release. No surprise it kicks asses. Next comes an amazing technical drum intro for the title track followed by thrashing tempo destroying everything in its path then breaking in a great groovy chorus. “Renegades” is another kick ass thrasher grooving more in the verses making you headbang harder instead of moshing. “City Of Doom” has that groovy mid tempo riffage reminiscent of Megadeth accompanied by the sound of a siren and a anti war message in the lyrics, followed by a really good chorus a bass break and some top notch soloing by Mike Sifringer. The next song “No Signs Of Repentance” brings back the mayhem, with some amazing trademark Destruction riffage, with a bit of groove in its chorus, a kick ass drum intro and some top notch soloing by Mike Sifringer.

The next song is one of the darkest tracks of the album and a personal favorite: “To Dust You Will Decay” which is almost philosophical lyricwise. Musicwise a mid tempo killer Thrasher with a kick ass chorus. Then we have the anthemic “Legacy Of The Past” with participants Tom Angelripper (Sodom) and Gerre (Tankard) in a fast yet groovy track showing every aspect of Destruction we love. Moving on to the rockin’ thrasher “Carnivore” and its mindblowing solo, which also has an amazing video including the Mad Butcher mascot. The 2 final tracks will make some heads bleed in the live shows of the band: “Riot Squad” and “Under Violent Sledge” just violent and ripping tracks with the first being more groovy and mid tempo. They’ll definitely make a lot of Destruction fans proud.

Bottom line, this album simply kicks ass and it definitely shows how much Vaaver‘s creativity helped Destruction write great music and more demanding tracks. March 3rd 2013, write down that date thrashers: Destruction live at Kyttaro Club, Athens.

Track List Line Up
01. Exordium
02. Cyanide
03. Spiritual Genocide
04. Renegades
05. City Of Doom
06. No Sign Of Repentance
07. To Dust You Will Decay
08. Legacy Of The Past
09. Carnivore
10. Riot Squad
11. Under Violent Sledge
Marcel “Schmier” Schirmer – bass, vocals
Mike Sifringer – guitars
Vaaver – drums