This might be the most discussed album of the year and probably not wrongly. The mention is for Symphony X’s new album which are back to the front after 5 years with a new album after the “grand” Odyssey. So then perhaps one of the best progressive metal bands has come again after a long period of time to renew the big love we feel for it and reward us with a disk diamond.

Oculus Ex Inferni, and with this majestic intro the album starts and it is ready to take us to a place we have never been before… a lost paradise. Set The World On Fire (The Lie Of Lies), and after that Michael Romeo and his group put on fire. Terrific riffs, very melodic solos, hyper cumbersome drums and a voice ready to excite even the most infidel one. A set that namely makes up a colossal cd.

The songs are something more than “1 and 1”. I guess this album was something unhoped that even the most optimistic fan of the group wouldn’t imagine since the band was abstained from the studios more than 5 years, and to tell the truth it’s not that it’s something so special or that it has the basis to be able to affect the rest of the specters of metal music it’s just such records didn’t come out for years.

Finally, it may be big talk but nevertheless the album even if it’s not the best of the year is certainly in the five first. A big bravo to the band and may other bands, old or new ones follow this example.

Track List Line Up
01. Oculus ex Inferni
02. Set the World on Fire
03. Domination
04. The Serpent’s Kiss
05. Paradise Lost
06. Eve of Seduction
07. The Walls of Babylon
08. Seven
09. The Sacrifice
10. Revelation (Divus Pennae ex Tragoedia)”
Russell Allen – vocals
Michael Romeo – guitar
Michael Pinnella – keyboards
Michael Lepond – bass guitar
Jason Rullo – drums