It was year 2001, that Night In Gales released their last full length album “Necrodynamic” and I’m very unhappy, to have come to the conclusion that these 10 years of weak presence in the music industry can make a big difference in the reception of something, that otherwise would be far more than just another release. The words can’t be refering nowhere else than in Night In Gales’ return album entitled “Five Scars”.

As everyone could’ve expected from these guys, they have remained faithful and straight to their general music approach, which is melodic thrash/ death metal done the Swedish way. From fast drumming to fast headbanging guitar doubling riffs, to death-train riffs, to sweet singable melodic refrains and some weird atmospheric passages, that unfortunately after a few songs go way wrong. Even all these bands that once had this sound a.k.a Edge of Sanity, Dismember, Dark Tranquillity etc. have tried to move a step further in order not to be heard that stable.

This is the one bad thing that emerged in the listening sessions for “Five Scars”. Forgotten music approach and retro colours that have stamped this release somewhere in the mid 90s metal music. Though, anyone could answer back, “well,what did you expect? It’s Night In Gales after all…” , but that’s not the case here for me.

I personally lack the thought of stability when it comes to listening any band’s new record. “Five Scars” although is a good record of what it represents, all those that it represents, are way over-heard and way way different nowdays. Entertaining anyone could tag this return record, but the surprise I believe can be something that will come in the future. If there is any surprise to come at all. For all you lovers of old school Swedish melodic death metal…

Track List Line Up
01. Epitaph (Intro)
02. This Neon Grave
03. Days of the Mute
04. Five Scars
05. Void Venture
06. The Tides of November
07. Life Denied
08. Endtrip
09. Whiteout
10. A Mouthful of Death
11. Bloodsong
12. Blackmouth Blues
13. The Wake (Outro)
Tobias Bruchmann –  Bass
Adriano Ricci – Drums
Jens Basten – Guitars
Frank Basten –  Guitars
Björn Gooßes – Vocals