[colored_box color=”grey”]Rating: 8
Label: Willowtip
Website: Link
Author: Kostas “Krotidas” Triantafyllidis[/colored_box]

Spain has been a great scene of death metal bands. There is no death metal fan that does not know Avulsed. Most of the Spanish are brutal and extreme and they involve with a lot of blood and gore on the lyrics and some with antichristian concept. Well this band is brutal, but their lyrics lay on a different level. They are called Wormed and this is their return after 10 years of absence.

Their second album is named “Exodromos” and it brings us great death metal music. Those guys have great technical skills and they display them excellent in each song. After many auditions of the CD there was a bittersweet taste left. The brutal technical death metal is of great quality, yet there are many slamming brutal elements. And frankly I do not like those. For example the vocals of Phlegeton are magnificent but I could live without the pig squeals. In the end that was the only handicap of the album.

To begin with the vocals and the lyrics I must confess I felt a bit confused. The vocals are at most of the duration of “Exodromos” the typical pig squeals. And I really don’t like this type of vocals. You cannot tell between the singers. They seem all the same to me. And when I listen to this kind of screams I expect some bloody and gore lyrics. This is not happening for Wormed. The lyrical themes they refer to are those of sci-fi, space and human evolution. This concept may not be something entirely new, though with these vocals they made it interesting. Of course there are some spoken parts here and there.

The track of “Solar Neutrinos” is one song with just spoken parts. A two minute song of guitar made atmosphere with some sounds effects in the background while the singer describes us something intergalactic theory for the future. Yet what did surprise me in the song is that the guitar melody reminded me of some intro on Emperor’s “Prometheus – The Discipline of Fire & Demise”.

To keep up the drumming of Ricky – the former drummer of Avulsed – is one of the greatest. His skills are well known from his previous band and in this CD he really nailed it. He keeps the pace magnificently with the blastbeats and the fills.

And the drums makes the guitars look better. The duo responsible for the song writing did a great work with the music and the construction f the songs. There is no song that you do not want to bang your head and smash your neck. The riffs have a lot of the technical approach without making the mistake of being overloaded with scales and solos.

For the conclusion the production is clear and even let the bass to be audible and to breathe through the songs. So overall “Exodromos” will buy out you with its great technical music by these five talented guys from Spain.

Track List Line Up
01. Nucleon
02. The Nonlocality Trilemma
03. Tautochrome
04. Solar Neutrinos
05. Multivectorial Reionization
06. Spacetime Ekleipsis Vorticity
07. Darkflow Quadrivium
08. Stellar Depopulation
09. Techkinox Wormhole
10. Xenoverse Discharger
Phlegeton – Vocals, Lyrics, Sound effects
J. Oliver – Guitars, Songwriting
Migueloud – Guitars, Songwriting
Riky – Drums
Guillemoth – Bass