Lately I discovered a great album released at the end of 2012 by a band in its first steps that made my head turn. I’m talking about “Liquid Rain”, a progressive metal band formed back in 2009 in Berne, Switzerland. “Bright Obscurity” is their debut album that includes eight songs of pure prog metal that reminds a lot of prog metal gods like “Dream Theater” and “Symphony X”.

Even though the final result sounds quite professional, these guys are all young and seems like a bright future lies in front of them. I have to say that I was quite impressed when I heard this album for the first time. Really great stuff going on in these almost 64 minutes of playing and these guys seem to know what they’re doing and the high quality songs that they deliver could be included in the album of a big prog band.

In songs like the first one “The Crooked Path Of Life” you can hear the resemblance with “Symphony X” and the way they change between rhythms reminds me a lot of Dream Theater’s writing procedure. The focus on the modern sound of prog metal like “DGM”, “Haken” or even “Redemption” but also have been influenced by classic metal bands like and “Fates Warning”.

The Ordeal” reminded me of a “Circus Maximus” track and at some points “Pain Of Salvation” but nevertheless its great song. The similarities with big bands are obviously a lot but the band manages to retain the personal sound and show their creativity and musical knowledge in songs like “Fast Food” an instrumental song with some oriental flavored melodies and a Spanish flamenco-style guitar solo in the end.

There is “Homeless” that is kind of a hit-song sounding straight-forward and really catchy or “So Far Away” that is a power ballad with a fantastic guitar solo, where “Janine Hulliger” (Fragment Of Symmetry) which is probably the drummer’s sister participates with her wonderful voice. The band has also found a way of combining traditional instruments without sounding cheesy. Don’t know why but the piano in the beginning of the instrumental track “Colored Darkness” reminds me lot of “Savatage” where the band shows the musical level once more. Liquid Rain are all fantastic musicians and I have to say that I was blown away by “Cyril Stoller” that responsible for the amazing keyboard melodies and “Dario Colombo” with his crunchy guitar sound, cleverly-played heavy riffs and awesome solos. “Norbert Suppiger” has an amazing voice though he imitates “Russell Allen” a lot.

Two last songs are the biggest of the album with a lot of tempo changing and melodies. “Rising From Seclusion” almost reaching ten minutes and “System Of Illusions” that is a thirteen minutes opus where Janine Hulliger also participates. The home-made production and the mixing “Simon Beck” did create a pleasant sounding final result. To sum it up “Liquid Rain” has promising potential for the future and “Bright Obscurity” is definitely an album for all the prog fans that constantly search for new bands out there. Give them a try.

Track List Line Up
01. The Crooked Path Of Life
02. The Ordeal
03. Fast Food
04. Homeless
05. So Far Away
06. Colored Darkness
07. Rising From Seclusion
08. System Of Illusions
Jeff Zopfi – Bass
Roman Hulliger – Drums
Dario Colombo – Guitars
Cyril Stoller – Keyboards
Norbert Suppiger – Lead Vocals 8XBET KUBET 188BET kubet kubet88 kubet77 kubet11 kubet casino tải kubet kubet đăng nhập đăng nhập kubet kubet mobile kubet79 kubet86 kubet win kubet kim kubet888 đăng ký kubet dang nhap kubet link kubet kubet 11 thabet và kubet dang ky kubet kubet 77 kubet 88 game kubet trang chủ kubet link vào kubet kubet thien ha kubet ku casino kubet online kubet 86 kubet99 tại kubet kubet3 kubet789 kubet 69 kubet thiên hạ tải kubet ios kubet 868 kubet 89 kubet79 me kubet ac kubet 79 kubet official kubet365 kubet link kubet 24h kubet 777 kubet 18 kubet 711 kubet lừa đảo kubet bet thienhabet kubet kubet 365 kubet999 kubet88 đăng nhập casino kubet trang kubet kubet 888 kubet 111 tải kubet casino kubet7 download kubet kubet vip kubet tải kubet casino nét kubet bị bắt kubet dang nhap kubet tha tha kubet kubet download kubet apk tải game kubet link đăng nhập kubet nha cai kubet ku casino kubet kubet nét tải kubet vip kubet khuyến mãi vao kubet kubet88 casino kubet88 win tại kubet 88 hỗ trợ kubet kubet viêt kubet pro link đăng ký kubet kubet online nét đại lý kubet bị bắt kubet android chơi kubet link tải kubet kubet7777 vào kubet thien ha kubet kubet24 kubet 68 kubet dv vnkubet kubet cho iphone ku777 kubet